Ward House

Seed lunches

No, this is not a seed lunch, I just though it made a catchy title since that is want I am scribbling about.  =)

I try to save the seed packets that my seeds arrive in, not only to be conservation minded but also because the packets are soo neat looking and I have no idea how to make them.  Well. . . Robbyn has an excellent post at WNDN about how to make your own seed packets.  Now I’ve used old envelopes and plastic baggies to keep seeds and I either do not have enough seeds and these get lost in the envelope or the seeds mold in the baggie.  Robbyn has inspired me to use all those cards, envelopes,bags that I’ve been saving to make my own seed packets.

I took her advise and googled “make your own seed packets” and found some great templates and even this Image Manipulation freeware to use in decorating those templates.  Now I have to include, becareful when downloading freeware – make sure you have a virus scan loaded and use it often.  There are several good free virus/spyware packages, including AVG which is what I use at home.  It will not catch some of the more clever bugs but is good for most cooties.  I did have to purchase a more aggressive protective package (Stopzilla) to kill a clever bug we caught; not sure how we caught it as Ronnie and I are both very careful (not careful enough, eh?).

This post on One Green Generation reminds me that we have our first community garden meeting this coming Tuesday.  I am excited yet apprehensive that I may be taking on too much.  It will be a great place to network with some of the master/more experienced green people in this area. Yipee!

I am still working on the packing to lunch thing.  The last two day’s lunch has been taken care of by other people so tomorrow will be a pack day.  Researching what to pack, how to pack a bento lunch, I found this on the Lunch in a box blog,

Japanese bento cookbooks traditionally suggest packing foods with antibacterial properties in lunches in order to keep food from spoiling. Suggested foods include umeboshi (pickled plum), wasabi, ginger, karashi, salt, shiso, parsley and vinegar (i.e. making sushi rice, or putting an umeboshi or a tablespoon or two of rice vinegar in the cooking water when making rice). Some recommend wiping the inside of the bento box with a slice of ginger before packing. This is all fine and good for Japanese food, but that’s not what I usually eat for lunch.New USDA- and NSF-funded research on foods with antibacterial properties has yielded a number of foods that fit nicely in the world food lunchbox. The strongest antibacterial foods (killing all bacteria) are evidently garlic, onion, allspice and oregano. The second strongest (killing up to 80% of bacteria) include thyme, cinnamon, tarragon, cumin (and lemongrass). The third strongest (killing up to 75% of bacteria) are capsicums, including chilies and hot peppers. The fourth strongest (killing 25% of bacteria) include white and black pepper, ginger, anise seed, celery seed, and lemon or lime juice. Honey has antibacterial properties, and the dodecenal compound in cilantro/coriander (both fresh leaves and seeds) is evidently one of the stronger antibacterials as well.

I think I will still refrigerate my lunches.  =)

February 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

