Ward House

Pickled Burdock

Who doesn’t have this weed herb growing in the side or back yard?  Yes, some have maticulous gardens/yards – I am not one of those.  Growing weeds herbs outside is easy, it is when I bring them inside that the challenge begins.

Anyway, I was looking for ways to take advantage of this prolific herb and found this recipe for pickled burdock!  Pickling things is easy, assuming you can wait to open the jar.

Instructionsburdock_leaves_spring

Things You’ll Need:
  • 3 lbs. burdock root
  • 3/4 cup salt
  • 7 1/2 cups water
  • Saucepan
  • 3 cups vinegar
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 slices of ginger
  • Canning jars
  1. Collect your fresh burdock root by foraging for it in the wild. The root can also be found in health food stores or Asian markets.
  2. Use a sharp knife to remove the rough skin from the burdock. Slice the root at an angle into 1/2-inch-thick slices. Set the root pieces aside.
  3. Mix the salt and water in your pan over low heat. Let the salt dissolve, and then pour it over the burdock until it is completely covered.
  4. Let the burdock sit in the salted water for 24 hours.
  5. Drain and rinse the burdock under cold water.
  6. Sterilize jars by filling them half full with water and microwaving them long enough for the water to boil for one minute.
  7. Fill your jars with the burdock root.
  8. In the pan, slowly bring the vinegar, garlic, and ginger to a boil over low heat.
  9. Fill the jars with the brine until the burdock root is completely covered.
  10. Cover and store your pickled burdock in a dark, cool place for a month before opening the jar. Your pickled burdock can be stored for up to a year.

There are many recipes online for cooking burdock root.  If I can dig some up, I’ll show you what it looks like.  Have you used burdock root before?

July 11, 2010 - Posted by | Cooking, Gardening, herbs, recipes, self sufficiency | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Annette ~ We don’t have burdock growing on our land. So a few years ago when I took a herb/wild foods class , we were allowed to dig up some burdock root to take home and plant. I planted it , but it didn’t thrive or come back the next year. I do have a plant growing near my back porch that looks like burdock , but I’m not sure about. It doesn’t receive much sun , so it hasn’t bloomed and it isn’t in the area were I planted the burdock I brought home. Have you made pickled burdock before or is this your first try?

    I tried another batch of red clover syrup and over cooked it again (sigh) , think I need to try another method. Hopefully the third time will be a charm (LOL).

    ~ Happy Herbal Blessings ~

    Comment by JoyceAnn | July 11, 2010 | Reply

    • This will be my first attempt at picking burdock – it grows like mad out here. The ground is so hard, thought, that it does not come out of the ground easily. The one I did dig up looked very fiberous – not at all what I was expecting. I have not googled a picture to see what it is supposed to look like. I hope it turns out – would be great to use some of this stuff!

      Comment by Annette | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. i don’t think that burdock grows in the wild down here. i love the look of your blog!

    Comment by amy | July 13, 2010 | Reply

    • I am over run with the stuff. =) Thing is, if you do not get the whole root, it will eventually come back. I have yet to be able to dig that far down! =) Thank you for compliment.

      Comment by Annette | July 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

