Ward House

The hazards of berry picking

Nothing serious – just very damp.  Originally I was going to sit through the Board of Stupervisors meeting and realized that my patience was very thin and sitting through that circus would be hazardous to the health and well being of others. Remember, this was not the meeting to discuss Dollar General, just to set the meeting in which to discuss Dollar General. I snagged Odis and went berry picking.

IMG_1714 The first thicket had been picked over and I left the remaining berries for the birds and other critters.  I had left Odis in the truck with the windows down so he could hang out but not jump out; cows were pastured in this field (not always the case) and I was afraid that he would chase them and someone would end up hurt.  While perusing this thicket, a storm rolled up and sheets of rain began falling.  In my bolt for the car, I saw all the young cows hanging out by the truck, trying to figure out just what it was and who was inIMG_1715 there.  I think they thought I was hauling hay.  Odis was just sitting in the seat, no barking, waiting for my return.  On the way home I came across a thicket that was AMAZING!  Not wearing the right kind of clothes (boots, jeans, short sleeves, no gloves) to climb the side of this mini mountain, I had to snag what I could easily reach; the fruit just fell off the clusters into my bucket.  Four cups worth ought to be enough to make some fruit syrup, right?

There are several good looking recipes online; what I’d like to know is what works for you.  Is there a recipe that you just love?  If so, please post a link to your blog or just post the recipe.

I cannot wait to read what tasty treasures  you have to share!

July 14, 2010 - Posted by | self sufficiency | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I don’t usually make fruit syrup – unless its a jam that doesn’t jel ;) However, 4 cups would be plenty for some berry cordial making…

    Comment by Kathie | July 14, 2010 | Reply

    • LOL I’ve made some of that type of jam. =) I’ll look up the berry cordial – any recipe suggestions?

      Comment by Annette | July 14, 2010 | Reply

      • I posted about it over at Not Dabbling in Normal awhile back. Also check out my sidebar for currently loving – Hic – all about cordials.

        Comment by Kathie | July 14, 2010

      • *hic* Lovin it! =)

        Comment by Annette | July 14, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

