Ward House

Doing not Thinking, Week 1

One of my goals is to have installed an alternate heat source so we will not heat with oil – this will still be as back up. In this weeks mail I received an advertising flyer from one of our local banks stating that they do green loans. This got me to thinking about perhaps an equity loan to include the cost of the stove So I spoke to First National (the bank with the flyer) and asked what my monthly payments would be for just 8k for the cost of the tailor stove – $120.59. It would still be an equity line of credit for 8k so I would be able to continue to borrow against that 8k. The trick is that the interest rate is prime +1; 6% for the moment.

The stove purchase has just kind of fallen into place: I have the loan, well on Monday, and could have the stove as early as this week! It is a Shaver stove and this company has extra stoves shipped with their regular orders. Wood furnace sales are at an all time high. Now my dilema is where to put it so loading will be convenient and we wont have to run an ungodly amount of pex tubing.

Here is a snap shot of my little homestead – where do I put it? Keep in mind, the chickens will need to roost somewhere as well. We will need to pour a concrete pad, of which I need to check to see what the dimensions need to be.

On a side note, how do I save seeds from part of this harvest for next year? and dry herbs – buy a dehydrator?
August 8, 2008 - Posted by | heating

8 Comments »

  1. Some seeds require more than others. Most you can just save as they dry on the plant and keep in a cool dry place. Some like tomatoes need fermentation.Herbs you can dry in the oven with just the pilot light on, or in a dehydrator, or tie them in bundles updside down, most do quite well that way.

    Comment by Kathie | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thank you Kathie. When you say that the tomatoes need fermentation, what does that mean?

    Comment by Annette | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Annette , I’m doing the ” Doing Not Thinking Challenge ” too. I thought I would visit everyone’s blog.We installed a wood furnace last year , and really like it alot.Good Luck with your goals !~ Green Blessings ~ JoyceAnn

    Comment by JoyceAnn | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thank you so much Joyceann! =) I need to go back to Kathie’s blog and see who else posted so I can visit your blog.’See’ you soon.

    Comment by Annette | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  5. Kathie means that you need to remove the guts from the tomatoe and place them in a jar with water. Place jar in the window. Stir it once a day. After a few days it will mold. Skim this off along with the seeds that floated to the top. The seeds that sank will be the seeds you keep. Strain and dry your tomato seeds, and store in the freezer. Right Kathie? :DAs for herbs, I use a small papper bag. Place the herbs into this, fold over the top and hang with clothes pins in a dry warm place where the wind can touch it. Leave for about a week. You can forget about them this way, and not worry about over drying them to a yucky brown color.As for the rest of your seed saving, it does depend on what you want to save. Most can just be dried out on a newspaper, and then stored away. Corn you leave on the cob, and beens you leave in the pod.

    Comment by Phelan | August 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Phelan, thank you so much for posting this! It makes complete sense. =) I will start that now with some of my cherry tomatoes; found a plant that I adore!

    Comment by Annette | August 12, 2008 | Reply

  7. If your vegetables are hybrids, saved seeds will not necessarily come true next year. I’ve been saving my own paste tomato seeds for so long that I basically have my own heirloom – completely adapted to my own little climate. I take the biggest earliest tomatoes each year, split them open and spread the seed goo on a piece of paper. I let it dry completely (the goo glues the seeds to the page), fold it up and store in an envelope for next year.Herbs I cut, wash, and spread to dry off on the dish drainer. I then rubber band (not string – that’s too messy when the stems shrink as they dry) them into bunches, put the pointy end of a drapery hanger hook through the rubber band, slide a little post-it label (dried bunches can look amazingly alike) in next to the rubber band, and use the hook part to hang the bunches up to dry (either on the edge of a high shelf or on a clothes drying rack). When completely dry, I crumble the leaves from the stems to store in jars.

    Comment by Sadge | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. An amazing post – I had read somewhere to purchase heirloom seeds only and then begin saving them. I will definately order some for next year!Thank you very much.

    Comment by Annette | August 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

