Ward House

Outside Wood Furnace Update & Other News

Approval for the equity line was a sweet feeling. My first loan, just me, no cosigners. It feels good to bask in that bit of sunshine. =) I close this Friday and will be able to purchase the wood stove after Wednesday (8/20). I have been speaking with a company in Danville about a Shaver wood furnace and as it turns out, my local furnace guy sells Hardy wood furnaces – I have heard nothing but good about Hardy’s. These furnaces are difficult at best to find on the web and were my first choice with Shaver a close second. The Shaver people are on vacation until the week after next (8/25) and the local furnace guy is on vacation til Tuesday (8/19). Looks like the fates have intervened to provide an efficient furnace, close to home that will allow me to ‘buy local’. =)

Oh, I need to amend an earlier post when I listed the price of the outside wood furnace as between $10-$15k. The Shaver woodstove will run about $6k with Ronnie providing the installation. We have already begun to clear out a huge forsythia that has taken over a fence line and into the side yard. It is a slow go since Ronnie and I have after day jobs.

The meeting with Sally happened today and I feel optimistic about the Preserve’s increasing awareness of recycling and being true stewards of the land (which is a phrase they use in marketing). My goals for this are to scope out places for recycling cans at our new office (we are moving to the main office), which we move into on 8/21 and 8/22. I will then follow up to make sure my new coworkers understand how to recycle. =) Will increase my eccentricity factor! I am excited about the possibilities. I cannot expect the County to make a change if my own company cannot get the hang of recycling. This will also help my endeavors within the comunity – helping other businesses set up recycling.

Odds and Ends: Started my first dishcloth last night, inspired by several ladies that I read, the first that comes to mind is down–to–earth.

Also, anyone know what is the name of this plant?

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | heating, Recycling

8 Comments »

  1. Hi there, – just thought I’d say hello. I found your blog via Rhonda at Down to Earth. I have enjoyed reading it and thought i’d let you know. Cheers

    Comment by Busy Woman | August 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great progress! How will you get wood for your stove? Do you know how much you’ll need for a winter? I’m assuming your climate is much warmer than mine and I’m curious about the difference. The recycling program sounds like it is falling into place, that’s just awesome!

    Comment by Kathie | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much! =) I found your blog – congrats on the soap making. I will try my hand this winter so I may have questions. =)I look forward to following your blog. Ciao!

    Comment by Annette | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey Kathie! =) Aside from what is in my brush pile, there are several felled trees in my back lot. I will also have a permit to cut down trees from the national forest and will purchase a tandem of logs from a man just 30 minutes north of where I live. Our winters have been mild for the last few years; We have not gotten below 0, except for wind chill and only one time, if I remember correctly. A tandem of wood should last about 1 1/2 years, depending on how cold outside and warm inside. =)The recycling is beginning to come together. I am so excited! Have some new news, but will have to wait til tomorrow to post.Ciao!

    Comment by Annette | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. Happy to hear the good news about the wood furnance and it sounds like you have great resources for wood , another plus.Learning to crochet was on my list of learning to do this year , I need to get started soon. I hope to make a dishcloth too.I believe your vine is some type of jasmine , or at least that was what my late MIL called her vine that looked like it.~ Blessings ~ JoyceAnn

    Comment by JoyceAnn | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hello there,Hello from the Netherlands.I found your blog by reading Rhonda’s Down—to—earth. I think the flowers belong to the Clematis family.Ingeborg

    Comment by Ingeborg | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  7. Greetings Joyce Ann! I learned to crochet while in 4-H and have used it ever since. They taught the basics so I had to learn the more complicated stitches on my own. Just do not let it overwhelm you. =) I found a crochet dishcloth pattern that includes a scrubbie crochet’d in – I’ll post the link tonite. As to the bush, it smells like jasmine but when I pull up a jasmine plant on the web, it does not look like my plant. This bush as a fiberous woody stem, dies in the winter and grows back completely in the summer (even when I cut it all the way back). *shrugs* I love to bring the flowers into the house; smells sooo good! =)Ciao!

    Comment by Annette | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  8. Welcome Ingeborg! I have heard that the Netherlands are one of the true last frontiers! =) It could definately be in the clematis family as it loves to climb. I have not seen roots like this one before either – they look like fingers. *shrugs* I have transplanted pieces to other parts of the garden and it is thriving. Thanks Ingeborg! =)

    Comment by Annette | August 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

