Ward House

Of concrete and tomatoes

Concrete arrived this morning and the furnace pad is poured. Ronnie even added some decorations! Now we must wait for the furnace, wiring and water lines to arrive. It is supposed to rain several inches within the next few days so we are hoping that our ditch witch ditch doesn’t collapse.


Now for tomatoes. My coworker asked if I had tomatoes and while we have a slew of cherry tomatoes, our regular tomatoes are still green and not really producing – it is almost the end of August! I have never seen this happen before – a summer without tomatoes. It has not been a hot summer as in previous years and I wonder if that has played a part. These ‘maters are so pretty. Perhaps I should just pickle them.

August 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. How exciting! I look forward to hearing more about your furnace project!

    Comment by Kathie | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Just a suggestion, but I have heard that depriving them of water for a bit can spur them to ripen quicker. It seems to trick the plant into thinking it’s dying or something and it throws all it’s energy into reproduction. Just a suggestion. It’s been a weird year here too.Good luck!P~

    Comment by P~ | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. P~, it has been a weird year! My neighbor watered his garden (probably why his corn is doing so well), mine gets more shade so I did not water. Tomatoes from both gardens are the same. Interesting to note is that my cherry tomatoes are very happy, and usually split their skins as soon as they turn red. *shrugs* When I plant next year, I will keep the water in mind! thanks!

    Comment by Annette | September 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

