Ward House

Grapes

We have inherited the most amazing grape arbor. Even though the supports are collapsing, something I will redo late this fall, the vine does not seem to care or notice. This is the first year that I have noticed the grapes being this prolific. Growing up I would help my mom with canning; however, assisting and actually doing are two different things! I am happy to report that we canned 9 1/2 pints and 9 pints of grape jelly, with an arbor still packed with grapes. I’d like to set aside either grape juice or can the grapes in water to save for later in the winter and make some grape juice then. I seem to remember Terry’s mom having canning jars of grapes in the cellar. From what I have read online so far, fresh grape juice does not freeze well. =( Any suggestions?

On another note, Ronnie and I had to run a few errands in ‘town’, I use that term loosely as Hot Springs does not have a stop light and ‘town’ consists of a few shops. Anyway, while we were out I found this chicken pot that was just too lovely to pass up. The picture does not show how the blue glows and has an irridescent look to it.

Our furnace will arrive in two weeks and in preparation, we have sought out individuals who sell tandem loads of wood. These individuals are difficult to find; we found one yesterday who will, for $600, deliver a tandem load of 22 foot logs. LOL This will be green wood so we will either need to cut some downed wood out of the National Forest (with a license, of course!) or purchase already cut, seasoned wood. We will see.

As I plan for the winter, I think about how to dry clothes other than using the clothes dryer. Hanging them outside seems to take forever to dry. I will hang a line in the laundry room; however, that will not work for everything. Any suggestions?
September 7, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I have a red seedless grape that usually does quite well. I freeze some grapes whole, on cookie sheets then dumped frozen into freezer bags, to use like frozen blueberries – in muffins or on cereal. Most I dry into raisins. I’ve also found the bunches keep quite well (into January) laid out one layer deep on stacking trays down in the cellar. I prune my grapevine annually to two arms north and south along the eastern edge of the dog run fence – grapes get the needed sunlight, and it’s easier to net them from the birds. ~Sadge

    Comment by Sadge | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Ah, seedless grapes would be wonderful! These are the concords with two seeds (I think it is two) in the middle. I definately need to prune this and fix the arbor supports. As you can see the current, original arbor is collapsing!My mom said something about making wine with them and most of the recipes I’ve found require wine yeast and glass jugs. I need to do more research. Enjoy your harvest! =)

    Comment by Annette | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve made hard apple cider and perry, using champagne yeast and the same plastic buckets Aries uses to make beer. Or maybe you could make grape leather from sieved grape pulp? Concord grape juice is supposed to be the best, and really good for you too.

    Comment by Sadge | September 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. I like the hard apple cider and Perry. I am guessing that the champagne yeast is available online? Grape leather – that also sounds tastey! These grapes are so sweet. I am guessing that I still need to pick the seeds out – crunchy leather does not sound quite as appetizing! =)

    Comment by Annette | September 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

