Ward House

Laundry

We are working hard to become more chemical free AND save some $$.  Perhaps more frugal is the better word.  I’ve been following Rhonda’s blog and she has great information on living a more sustainable, frugal lifestyle.  In this blog I found some great cleaning recipes that really work and are cheaper than commercial cleaners!  I’ve made the change to using baking soda and vinegar in the bathrooms and have already noticed a big difference in how clean everything looks – and how much I enjoy using these items knowing I no longer need to worry about the cat or dog licking up the water when I am done.  I think the fun-ness of knowing how cheaply I am cleaning and that I am caring for my home makes cleaning fun again and I am more likely to do it! 

In the attempt to save some $$, I have also started the process of stock piling following the inspiration of the ladies of my blog roll.  Laundry tends to be big at my house, with 2 kids in sports and a maintenance man.  Using a laundry soap that does not create an allergic reaction is also EXTREMELY important.  Back to Rhonda’s blog, she has a whole post on simple cleaning recipes, including this one for laundry and cleaning recipes.  I ordered the items I needed from Soaps Gone By and using Rhonda’s recipe, I will be able to make 10 liters of laundry soap for $2.65.  Now 10L = 42.2675 US cups.  If I use 1/4C to do a load of laundry, and my math is right (which is sometimes suspect), I think I will get 165 loads out of one batch of this laundry soap.  Hmm.  I am such a cheap date!

October 6, 2008 - Posted by | Cleaning |

2 Comments »

  1. Hello,

    Doing some research on Shaver woodstoves. How long did it take you to get yours, if you don’t mind me asking?

    Thanks,
    Dan

    Comment by Dan Laverty | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey Dan! If I had continued on with a Shaver stove, it would not have arrived until this month. =( My Hardy stove took about 4 1/2 weeks to arrive, which from what I have heard is a very speedy time since wood furnaces are on back order. Most dealers are ordering stoves in addition to the ones they have an order for just because the demand is so high.
    Good luck!

    Comment by lanniee | October 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

