Ward House

clucking

May be a sound we will hear at my house. . . soon?  Found a friend at the library who raised chickens, took a break and just got more.  He knew of a family that had to move and could not take theirs – all I have to do is catch them.  That leads me on to where to keep them.  I have been so focused on the furnace that I have not worried about the chickens or a tractor in which to house them.  Free chickens. . . Hmmms.  Catching could be the challenging part.  This family is still going to the property to through in feed; however, the birds are generally not cared for. 

My only hesitation is the zoning board.  Even though the home has had chickens on the property prior to 2004, I feel that they may still have issue, if a complaint is filed.  Now keep in mind, these are not free range chickens and there will be no rooster.  Chickens are like pets; they provide therapy while eating kitchen trash and laying eggs.  My puppy will eat the trash but he doesnt lay eggs! 

Some designs I am considering came from here

October 8, 2008 - Posted by | Chickens

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, free chickens!! You’re really lucky your zoning allows for them…go for it 🙂

    Comment by Robbyn | October 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. =) Well, I am not saying that chickens are allowed just yet. It is kind of like speeding – only a problem if you are pulled over. The zoning will change it is just a question of when. I dunno that I can add any new animals just yet – so much regular schtuff going on.
    I do love chickens though . . .

    Comment by lanniee | October 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

