Ward House

Its official

My maples have begun to turn, so fall is officially here!  =)  These trees are always the last to turn and when they do, the colors are just amazing!  Last night we began the halloween decorating and I will post some pictures as soon as we are done. Trio

  If all goes well tomorrow, my goals are:
  1. Split more wood and bring closer to furnace
  2. Make laundry soap
  3. Hull some black walnuts – with gloves!
October 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I hull black walnuts by putting them out in the driveway and running the car back and forth over them a few times. Then, use the gloves to pick them up and float them to get rid of the empty ones. How do you crack them to get anything out of them?
    ~Sadge

    Comment by Sadge | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. I asked my Grandmother about the best way to crack them and she said to crack them from top to bottom or bottom to top, not sideways. Does that make sense? However your going to crack them, do it on the ends, not in the middle.
    She said that would give you the most meat. I hope to try my hand at that this eve after work and after bringing in more wood. Thank you for the tip on floating to find the empty ones!

    Comment by lanniee | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve seen ads for nut crackers that can handle black walnuts, but my method is still a hammer out on the concrete 🙂 I’ll pay more attention to how I’m holding them. I might try using the vise out in the garage too.

    We heat with a wood stove, so I’ve never dealt with a wood-fired furnace. But wood burnt with no fire sounds like not enough air – either the intake blocked, not enough draft, or the wood stacked too tight (or maybe too green).

    Comment by Sadge | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. =) Concrete works for me! I’m not sure what Ronnie has planned for cracking them.

    As for the furnace, Ronnie wondered if he had stacked the wood too tightly. We have some green and some seasoned wood so it is possible that too much green was loaded up. *shrugs* I’ll pass the info along to Ronnie and we will watch it more closely! =)

    Comment by lanniee | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

