Ward House

Gelatinous detergent

I found this awesome recipe on Rhonda’s site about homemade laundry detergent, went to soapsgonebuy.com ordered my supplies and made detergent last nite.  While it was setting up, I noticed that some of the ingredients were trying to seperate, I mixed with my wooden sloted spoon, scoped some out and did a load of laundry – great stuff!  Overnite the mix finished cooling and is now firm jello.  LOL  It is still scoopable and I wonder if I should, in batches, take and mix it back up with some hot water to make pourable – or just leave it jello and scoop out as I need.  *hums*  Any suggestions?  Next time I will let it thicken more on the stove before transfering it to my bucket and adding water.  I’ll have to post a picture.  Right now it is living in a 12 ltr bucket!

October 22, 2008 - Posted by | Cleaning |

3 Comments »

  1. Another cool site using the same ingredients as I for detergent! http://kimzkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/04/21/the-value-of-one-penny-homemade-laundry-detergent/

    Comment by lanniee | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. A low cost, green eco friendly way to clean laundry is to put 3 or 4 soapberries in a sack and put it in the wash. They grow on the Chinaberry tree and have been used for thousands of years. It works very effectively. You can also make a liquid cleaner from them.

    Comment by Ira Goodman | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Such an amazing article! I really enjoy reading it, very good insights, the article is very ell-said. A thumbs up!

    Comment by lishar | June 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

