Ward House

Powdered Sugar

My camera has no batteries so I cannot include a picture with this post.  Yesterday we heard about winter storm warnings for county’s near Bath, none for us specifically.  With phrases like “6-15 inches” being thrown around, we were hopeful to be able to capture some of this powdered sugar.  So far we have an inch in the drive, though the grass is still visible in the yard.  These are small flakes and it is a heavy drop. 

I love to watch it snow.  The world gets so quiet and all I hear are the birds chirping (which reminds me, I need to fill one of the feeders) and the sound of the snow falling.  That reads weird.  The sound of snow falling.  It does make a sound – reminds me of a soft crinkling sound.  Not icy like sleet.  Hmmm.  Any suggestions on what snow sounds like?

Looks like I am catching a ride to work.

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t know about the sound of snow falling, but I do know temperature affects the sound made when you walk in it. Around freezing or just below, it’s a crunchy thuddy sound. At zero, it’s more of a higher-pitched crackle. Way below zero, it’s a squeaky noise.

    I have heard thunder in snow storms a couple of times, complete with diffused lightning flashes. More often, snow comes in with howling winds.

    Comment by Sadge | November 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

