Ward House

Got Milk?

Got Milk?Several weeks ago I wrote about being lactose intolerant and at how amazed I was at where the lactose enzyme shows up (fruit juices, marinated mushrooms, etc).  While reading In Defense of Food, I began to wonder if I could drink raw milk and began to Google raw milk and lactose intolerance.  It would appear that raw milk contains the enzyme needed to process lactose; this enzyme is killed when the milk is processed. 

After reading several testimonials about how lactose intolerant people were able to drink raw milk with no discomfort, I am ready to try.  Leaving milk out of my diet I believe puts myself and family at a nutritional disadvantage.  I now have a call in to a beef cattle friend of mine to see if he knows where, locally, I can purchase raw milk.

Gimme some moo!

 

UPDATE:  There appears to be one ‘local’-30 minutes away-mennonite operated dairy where I MAY be able to try raw milk!  =)

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

8 Comments »

  1. If you can, try to get Dexter milk. Their “fat” is broken down a lot more naturally than other cattle. If you can drink goats milk, you can drink Dexters. Good luck, I hope it works out for you.

    Comment by emphelan | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thank you for the heads up! I will specifically ask for that tomorrow when I call the dairy. =) *googles dexter goats*

    Comment by Annette | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. I don’t know if there are dexter goats, If you find some, let me know. Find out your laws for raw milk. Some states won’t let you sell it at all, while others have different laws, but you can place an ad on craigslist, asking for any info on where you can find raw milk in your area. You might get some interesting emails about it. Just make sure you are not doing anything illegal in your state.

    Comment by emphelan | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. I just did a quicky look for you. I take it you are in VA, since your weather thing states this.

    Laws in VA

    Looks like it is illegal to sell, but they can give it away. I would suggest a cow share in your state.

    Ok, I think I am done bothering you.

    Comment by emphelan | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. Emphelan, thank you so much for checking! Oh, and there is no such thing as a dexter goat. =) I did find some great websites about the different dairy breeds. I would have not thought it to be illegal to sell raw milk. That is so bogus.
    I have not thought or heard of a cow share. I would love to have a dexter or perhaps a few goats – my back lot needs some clearing and I have heard goats are perfect for that. My county does not allow anything considered an agricultural animal. I plan to have illegal chickens! =P
    You are NEVER a bother. I follow your site religiously and have taken soo many notes! =)

    Comment by Annette | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. well if that’s the case, here are some more links for you

    Info on cow shares

    Eat WIld VA

    Breezy Vale Farm

    don’t know how close they are to you, but they might know of a cow share that is close to you. Also ask that “local” farm if they do cow share. psst. . . don’t share their answer with us, or tell the name of the farm.

    Comment by emphelan | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Girl, you are the bomb! Thank you so very much! =)

    Comment by Annette | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] A lactose-intolerant person wonders if he could drink raw milk […]

    Pingback by Raw milk roundup #2 — 25 new stories « The Bovine | December 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

