Ward House

My dilema

I am faced with a tough choice.  I love my house and enjoy where I live, despite the limitations on what I can/cannot do with sustainable living.  My choice is this; to sell where I live and buy my BF’s mom’s house, which has 3 acres and is zoned agricultural and is a small house.  We could have chickens, pigs and a milk cow, fab garden spot, established/huge apple tree and room for more – the trick is that this house needs alot of work, including fixing the water system.  It is well water with an extremely high iron content.  We are now getting the current house the way we want it, including the outside wood furnace.  I dunno that we could sell the current home if we had too.  Guess it becomes a question of what do I want more? 

What I want is to live where I am, have the zoning changed, buy the back lot beside mine and have a few laying hens, hogs and a few dairy goats. Can I do that ‘smartly’ on an acre?

Any advice??

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

4 Comments »

  1. I wish I had knowledge in this area so I could say something helpful. I just want to throw out my two cents – perhaps as society changes it will become easier to adjust the zoning. And it is easier to ask forgiveness than permission! 😉

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. So very true on forgiveness – this is the common advice on chickens, anyway. =) BF’s mom is only a few miles away, and I think I may end up getting two dexter cows and a few hogs to keep on her property. Now comes the purchase price, fencing, etc.
    *eek gads!*

    Comment by Annette | December 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. We’re on an acre and a quarter. I have five 50′ x 3′ garden beds, an herb garden, 3 grapevines, 3 kinds of berry patches, 5 nut trees, 20-something fruit trees, and shade trees; garage, 2 sheds, chicken coop, cellar, deck, patio, and 2 bedroom house; and half the lot is still sand and sagebrush.

    We’ve had goats, ducks, geese, a hog, and horses here in the past. I’d like to build a barn and see about goats or a miniature milk cow someday. One consideration is that I have no pasture, so would have to buy all feed.

    Although we’re currently zoned for livestock, the city is growing towards us, wanting to put higher density housing plus commercial all around us. I’m worried that the newcomers would then complain and fight to get rid of our “grandfathered-in” zoning. I keep an eye on what the city council is doing, and speak up in the meetings when I want something “on the record”.

    Comment by Sadge | December 10, 2008 | Reply

    • Sadge, would you mind posting a sketch of how your gardens and such are laid out? What will you do if the grandfather zoning is changed? Can it be changed?

      Comment by Annette | December 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

