Ward House

Tomorrow

     Tomorrow we go to a farm, about an hour away, to look at a cow share: $50 one time fee and $28/month board.  This provides 1gal of milk a week with the cow having 60 days off each year.  Buying two shares double both fees.  Does this sound about right?  There are two other farms within an hours drive to check.  I am dying to have milk again!  And make butter, etc. 

     Driving once a week just sounds to far away for me.  Last year I had a serious accident – totalled two trucks, one of which was a 1/4 ton Chevy Silverado (the one I was driving) and a smaller toyota.  Since that time, I really do not like to drive.  I would really like to have milk again.  The raw that I tried last week tasted so incredible.  Nothing like what is available at the stores. 

     Is my money better spent here, to buy chickens and perhaps a dairy goat?  Don’t know that I can house them here (zoning issues).  If the neighbors do not complain, not a problem.  They are such escape artists though – goats, not the neighbors.  =)   Hmms…

December 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I have to email you with my comments.

    Comment by emphelan | December 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. oops, don’t have your email. Click on my profile and email me if you want to know what I think.

    Comment by emphelan | December 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. I am part of a CSA outside a midsize town, and several of the members take turns “carpooling” the shares into town so we don’t all have to drive out there every week. It saves time & gas! One of the members has volunteered his garage as the pick-up point each Saturday. Maybe you can find some people to take turns driving to pick up the shares.

    Comment by Zarah | December 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. I really like the idea of cow share. I live in CA but the prices here are pretty expensive….I hope someday to either have a cow or be able to afford the cow share… twice in the last month I have gotten bad milk from the store- just makes me want it straight from the cow even more!

    Comment by Jenny | December 29, 2008 | Reply

    • As I do more reading, especially In Defence of Food I realize that whole foods, including milk, is the only way to go. =) Good luck on locating one within a reasonable distance. =)

      Comment by Annette | December 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

