Ward House

What a weekend

tweet tweetPoor Ronnie caught the stomach virus that has been visiting homes in our community and has been stuck in bed and close to the bathroom for the last 4 days.  While nursing him, I have been doing some knitting and sewing.  What have I been sewing you might ask?  Well, it is some of these cute little birds using this template. I cannot remember from whose blog I found this.  The birds turned out really well.

I decided that making butter from the cow share would be ‘fun’ and add some real goodness to toast.  Now, how does one make butter.  From the various websites, there are many different ways to make butter.  Anyone have a process that is tried and true?  I skimmed the cream off the top, transfered to a jar with a lid and started shaking.  This does not take long.  Various websites stress how important it is to make sure all the buttermilk is out of the butter or it will cause the butter to sour early.  Herein lies my challenge.  I tried the put the butter in ice water and squish with your hands – kinda worked but made my hand very buttery.  butter

December 22, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

