Ward House

Times are changing

     Tight times are coming.  I worked last night at the restaurant and made a nice pocket o’change; however, I am on the schedule at all next month.  They will call me in if someone cannot work or they have a party.  This leaves me with brain storming on how to make a little extra cash to kind of fill in the gaps.  A good place to start is what do I know, what skills do I posses that I can either teach to others or use to produce an item to sell/barter:

  • Computer skills (set up etsy, design banners, mailing lists, etc)
  • Crochet ‘master’, knitting beginner.
  • canning (beginner)
  • gardening (beginner)
  • sewing (adv beginner)

     I think that about sums it up.  Now this is a small list compared to the homesteading divas that I read everyday and worship, however it is a start.  When I get frustrated, I just think “baby steps”.  Another biggy is learning to make due with less.  As I review the budget, it appears that the two items I could get rid of would be netflix and my computer line.  The computer line would be the last to go as the internet is my 3rd place (cannot remember on whose blog I read about this), my connection to family and friends.

     I am curious to hear how individuals supplement or even live off of what they craft/grow/teach, etc.  Outside of the box is not a problem; just out of ideas.  =)  I am ‘gearing’ up for when the local farmer’s market opens.  Perhaps sell some crochet dishclothes and aprons – Oh, the apron pattern I ordered is from Sew Liberated, the emmeline apron.  And the fabric I

Petal Party Spring

Petal Party Spring

picked out from Sew Mama Sew is this one – >

     I am going to use some scrap/cheap material to make my first apron before I cut into this amazing beautiful fabric.  Perhaps this will be something that will go over well at the market as well.  Hmmm.  What sorts of items does one normally fine or look for at the market, other than fresh produce of course!

     In preparation for the New Year *gulps*   I plan to participate in this challenge.  For some reason that reminds me that in November 2009 my oldest daughter, Ashley, will be 15 & 8 months – eligible to get her learners permit!!  O.M.G.  I do not feel old – that just amazes me.  I can remember holding her as an infant and wondering what the next 10 years would bring.  Time flies.  Enjoy the wee years, time passes so quickly!

December 31, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Community. If you haven’t learned it yet from my blog, community is super important. Meet and greet the neighbors you haven’t yet, reignite old friendships in the ‘hood. And talk. Find out what each of you can do, and start wheeling and dealing. We do this on a regular basis, I know you read today’s post, these things happen often in our area. Good neighbor will be raising turkeys while we concentrate on geese, he will raise meat goats, while I have the milk, so on and so forth. I have other neighbors that are now showing interest in doing the same with us.

    Comment by emphelan | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. I do have a neighbor that loves to make soap and I need to find out from her what I can do/make in trade. My other neighbor wants to raise rabbits but is concerned about zoning issues. I’ve already told him I would love for him to have rabbits and I would gladly trade eggs for rabbit meat. I dunno if he is going to do it or not. =/ We often trade old furniture (he collects) in exchange for helpful information or muscles. =)
    I will definately continue to work on community. Oh, BF (who is VERY connected in the community) just called to say he has someone who will sell us a beef cow (slaughtered) for .85cent /lb. Sounds yummy!! I’ll have to ask for the hide and hooves (for the dog to chew?). Anything else?

    Comment by Annette | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. hi, i found you foma mention on the simple green co-op and I wanted to say that etsy.com might be something to look into. you say you crochet really well and I’ve seen some really nice crocheted dish cloths on there that seem to sell really well. it’s not a bunch of money, but it would be something. i understand the need for extra cash – we live on my husband’s teaching income. good luck to you in the coming year.

    Comment by robyn | January 4, 2009 | Reply

    • I’ve actually started to set up an etsy shop – I love to shop there myself! Thank you for the idea. =)

      Comment by Annette | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Annette , My thoughts have been the same as yours , how to make extra money this year.

    I keep my grandchildren , while my daughters work. I also help out with a friends son , after school care. Maybe you could consider childcare of some sort , if you do well with kids. I may take in 1 or 2 more if I have too.
    In our state , you’re allowed to keep up to five without being licensed. You may need to check your state laws if you consider childcare.

    Hope your holidays were Blessed and your New Year is too.

    ~ Hugs & Blessings ~
    JoyceAnn

    Comment by JoyceAnn | January 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

