Ward House

Cold brew java – Mm Mm good!

     In today’s post from  Apron thrift girl  she talks about cold brew coffee – something my mother drinks all the time and I had totally forgotten about.  Lately my ability to eat eggs (plain, fried or scrambled, omelets) has become non existent.  I am  having the same nauseous reaction to coffee, my favorite drink!  When I saw this post I remembered everything mom said about cold brew coffee – less acidic, lasts forever, etc.  I drink it when at her house and really enjoy the flavor.  Why have I not started on this trend, you ask?  Dunno.  Too many ideas in my head and this one is in the way back, behind the molding leftovers.  Time to pull this puppy out and make some cold brew.  The web is full of ideas on how to make your own cold brew without buying a press on-line – free is always good!  Some sites that I found helpful include Smitten Kitchen, and the this is from an article in the New York Times:

But you can also bang it out with a Mason jar and a sieve. You just add water to coffee, stir, cover it and leave it out on the counter overnight. A quick two-step filtering the next day (strain the grounds through a sieve, and use a coffee filter to pick up silt), a dilution of the brew one-to-one with water, and you’re done. Except for the time it sits on the kitchen counter, the whole process takes about five minutes.

     On a totally different note, something I want to remember/learn how to do is create my own fabric tabs to stitch to my different crafty items.  There are a few different ideas, including this from Fresh Vintage, ISew’s,  and  Geocities at Yahoo!.

    Still on an apron kick; have not started on mine yet though I did find this cool apron pattern that uses an old pillow case!  This is a half apron.  I thought it was a cool idea.

January 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

