Ward House

Herbal remedies

Over at Women Not Dabbling, there is an excellent article on making herbal cough drops.  This post is so timely as Ashley is fighting off a cold and other than Vitamin C, I do not have much else to give her.  *sighs*  Fortunately, sickness does not visit our house often so when it does, I am woefully unprepared.  I’m thinking I may be able to make some of this tonite??  Of the herbs listed, the ones I know I have locally include yarrow, sage, peppermint, dandelion and rosemary.  Does it matter what type of yarrow?  I have the white field yarrow that grows kind of everywhere and then the yellow yarrow that I bought and planted last year.  This list mentions holy basil – how is that different from regular basil?  Not sure which plant I have growing in the kitchen.  I’ll have to see if I can get some dandelion leaves outta the yard!

I apologize for the posts of the last few days.  These have been disjointed at best which seems to be how my mind has been working.  There are so many little things going on that I fail to connect all the dots and my little picture comes out a bit disjointed!

Ronnie did alot more work in the kitchen after my posting.  The total bat count when we finished last nite was 18.  18 dead bats in the chimney.  This made me very sad as I cannot imagine dying in a chimney.  =(  Plus I love bats.  How they look, fly, eat bugs, etc.  We actually play with them in the summer – throw stuff into the air and the bats dive bomb our little trinkets.  I’ve thought up putting up bat houses and have been told by locals that most bats around here do not stay in them and definately do not winter over there.  Guess these would be good for in the summer so they will stay out of the garage and attic.  *shrugs*  I kind of dont mind them in these two places.  Guess if it weren’t for the droppings, it would not be so much an issue.

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

