Ward House

I am a knit wit

Sometimes anyway.  I have the purl/knit thing down and youtuknitting-needlesbe is great for any other show-me-this-stitch questions I may have.  Except,. . . when I look at my work, it is difficult to tell on what row I am working.  How do you count stitches?  This is something I have not youtube’d yet – thought I would come to the ladies who are in the know.  How do you keep track of where you are in a peice?

Growing up, fruit roll ups were out the question.  Sadge, though, has a great alternative to these high fructose, sugar filled treats.  My girls would love these!  I’ve bought fruit leather at the health food store, on the few occasions that we drive into town (90 minutes away) and these are devoured quickly – they never make it into the house!  This season I am growing several different types of squash/winter squash/cooking pumpkins and will use some for this leather.  I wonder if this same recipe will for other fruits?  I’ll ask her.  Sadge is on a roll today as she has this amazing post about preservation over at the Frugal Coop.  We have an electric dehydrator that we use for now – I like Sadge’s idea better.  Keeps me off the grid!  =P  Ronnie, are you ready to build this?

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | Cooking | ,

2 Comments »

  1. When I need to keep track of rows, I put a tick mark on an index card or piece of scrap paper. Some people use those little barrel shaped row counters where you turn the knob at the end of a row.

    What stitch are you working? Stockinette (or plain knitting) is where the Right Side rows are knit and the Wrong Side rows are purled, and garter stitch is where every row is knit.

    If you’re knitting stockinette, on the RS, count the heart-shaped stitches from bottom to top and you have your number of rows. To count rows with garter stitch, count the ridges – each one equals two rows.

    As for counting stitches, the easiest way is to count the loops on your needles – each loop is one stitch.

    HTH 🙂

    Comment by Mary | February 5, 2009 | Reply

    • This post was VERY helpful. I am knitting a tea towel where the beginning of every row is K3. Odd rows are K3, *P3, K7* to end with K3. Every even row is K the entire row. I just get turned around when trying to figure out if I am even or odd. I am a very novice knitter and your explanation makes complete sense! =)
      Thank you so very much!

      Comment by Annette | February 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment