Ward House

Now what

Phelan, I’m not sure if I read this on your blog or not – when you boil down a chicken carcass to get all the goodness out and then can the resulting broth, it looks all gelatenous, right?  I did not can mine but put in the fridge ’cause I am hoping to use it this weekend (boiled it down on Monday).    Of course, the fridge causes everything to separate, which is fine.  Now I have a quart canning jar full of gelatenous chicken broth.  I remember reading that this is good but cannot remember the specifics.  I cannot locate that specific entry either.  How can I use it now?  Do I dilute with water?

Oh, some links I want to remember:

  • triangular door stop tutorial
  • How to wrap my lunch, if I decide to use something other than the stainless steel lunch dodad (still thinking about that).  In researching my lunch carrying options, so as to avoid plastic, I found this cool site, Lunch in a Box.  I love the Bento Boxes – perhaps this will be my new rage??  I signed up to this forum.  Looks soooo tastey!
  • I need to redo my categories and tags.  *bleck*
  • How to make a rag rug tutorial

Ok, that is it for me for now.  This weekend will be kinda hectic as the girls have sports stuff and we need to cut more wood.  =)

February 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. When you heat the chicken broth, it will liquify more than it is in its cold gelatinous state. Heat it up slightly before adding it to your soup, you can dilute if necessary as well. However, I suggest heating it first and adding it to the rest of your ingredients then seeing if it needs to be more liquid than it is…

    Comment by Kathie | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. that is EXACTLY what I was looking for – thank you Kathie! =)

    Comment by Annette | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Sorry I didn’t see this until now, but looks like Kathie answered you.

    Comment by emphelan | February 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

