Ward House

Baking eggs and soap

Happy Monday everyone!

We make our own bread at the house and for awhile I wondered about the sugar that was required.  All this care, time and good stuff we put into the loaves and then add sugar?  Well, WNDN have addressed that issue here.  I think I may try my hand at making my own diastatic malt.  My one grandmother is now in her 90’s and still as spry as ever.  She lived through the Depression and I have been picking her brain, when I can, about what they did, how they ate, etc. during this time.  On one visit I addressed bread – how did they keep it from molding.  Her reply was they did not make bread.  There were 7 children and 3 farm hands that ate with them and bread was served in the form of biscuits or corn bread, made fresh, with practically no left overs.  Biscuits may be a better option for our home.  Hmms.  Now I just need a biscuit recipe that I can use – ones I have tried so far do not rise well and look, well, distorted.  =Pvalentines

Oh, a friend of mine forwarded this email to me; it made me laugh so I had to share with you here.     —->

I heard some disturbing news over the weekend.  Not sure why I consider this disturbing, considering what most of us eat; however, it just sounds icky.  I made a new friend over the weekend (Anne), yes a real person.  =)  Anyway, she has chickens where she lives in MD and was telling me about eggs.  Now, I already knew about the little spot in the yolk and how that meant it was a fertilized egg.  What I did not know was that the white squiggle that you see in the egg white is roaster contribution.  *bleck*  I realize that people eat mountain oysters and that when the egg is cooked, it kills most things, including contribution; however, that just kinda grosses me out.  *shivers*  Should I be concerned that I am buying fertilized eggs from the grocery store?  I do not believe the eggs that I buy from the local farm have the contribution.

My neighbor makes some nice soap – a skill I want to learn.  Rhonda Jean’s Down–to–earth blog has a great laundry soap recipe (which I use) so now I want to try her cold pressed soap.  I know there are a slew of soap making recipes on the web; I’d like to use one that words, is tried and true!  Just found this laundry soap recipe, appears to be similar to Rhonda’s although I do not need to convert from metric.

The neighbor on the other side of me has been doing some great work outside:  transplanting raspberry plants, planting blueberry bushes, etc.  I so need to start that and feel overwhelmed with what to put where.  A plan needs to come into play here.  What do place where.  Eek gads.  I’ll try to get some of that onto paper and post here.  One thing at a time.  =)

Mmmm, truffles!  Which reminds me, Ronnie and I cut, split and stacked three loads of wood on Saturday; hopefully enough to get us through the rest of the cold.  Then I worked at the restaurant that weekend.  As a treat, the innkeeper made truffles for the wait staff to carry with the check to the tables.  I heard nothing but raves about these decadent chocolate wonders.

In a prior post  about when the electricity went out (things that go bump in the night) we made some interesting observations, very similar to the ones Stephanie lists here:

1. Camping equipment is for more than camping.
2. The dishwasher makes an excellent drying rack for hand washed dishes.
3. Who ever invented head lamps is a genius.
4. An ample supply of firewood, flashlights, and batteries is a household requirement.
5. Putting the kids to bed with the sun is kind of nice.
6. A good book is almost as distracting to me as the computer.
7. Our kids have fantastic imaginations.
8. Fasting electric is good for the mind, not to mention the electric bill.
9. Hot showers are one of the most under rated pleasures on earth.
10. Sometimes what you miss surprises you. One of the things I missed the most was my garbage disposal.

Odd n’ ends:

  • gift box – if only I were this talented!
  • I want to learn to Zumba.
February 16, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Annette…your egg friend was pulling your leg I believe. The white squiggly in the egg is called a chalazae. It just holds the yolk in place within the egg and doesn’t have anything to do with the growing chick (if one does grow). The white part is actually the part that becomes the chick..the yolk is its food.
    Also..the red spot is a bit of blood from within the oviduct of the hen while developing and/or laying the egg. Both are safe and harmless. Store bought eggs are candled to remove those with blood spots. Home grown eggs usually are not so we see them more often. Just funny, but edible, things we find in our food that commercial agriculture tries to “protect” us from 😀 Next time you see your egg friend you can wow her with your new random bits of useless information hehehe Have a fabulous week 🙂

    Comment by monica | February 17, 2009 | Reply

    • I am sooo glad to hear that! Thank you for responding and setting the record straight. Ronnie will be so glad to hear that. =)

      Comment by Annette | February 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

