Ward House

Croissants

The Grist Mill purchases its breakfast pastry’s from a bakery in Staunton.  Over lunch, Ronnie and I were talking about my baking those pastries here.  Hmmm.  Croissants and scones are the usual fare.  Scones are fairly easy and could be whipped up in no time.  Croissants are another matter.  There are several articles online about how to make croissants ranging from those that look like canned biscuits to the buttery, flakey ones that I have tasted from a French bakery – these would be the ones to make.  After speaking with one of the managers, we would not be allowed to make pastries for biscuit1the Inn as we are not FDA approved.  *rolls eyes*  How ’bout we just make sure that cottage industries die before they get started?  Anyway, while I am here, thought I would post a few pix of our wood cook stove biscuits.  These puppies are about 3 inches in diameter and 1-1.5 inches thick.

Biscuits under glass

Oh and Riana with Those Days in French Life talks about food storage in her March 1st post including oilcloth sandwich bags.  From here I Googled and found this article on how to make oilcloth.  Seems simple enough.  When I am ready to try, I’ll post the outcome.  =)

March 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Those look yummy 🙂

    Comment by Janelle | March 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Why thank you! =) They get devoured very quickly!

      Comment by Annette | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ve bookmarked that oilcloth site. I’ve been thinking I need a new camping tablecloth, and I know we’ve got linseed oil out in the garage. Cool! Thanks!
    ~Sadge

    Comment by Sadge | March 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Sadge, if/when you make a new tablecloth, definately post a picture. I would love to see it!

    Comment by Annette | March 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

