Ward House

Murder has come to Hot Springs

It’s late (11:52 actually) and I am just getting home from the restaurant.  While at work we get news that there has been a shooting at the Homestead; a chef and his assistant.  You know what it was about??  Hours.  This man’s schedule had been reduced so he shoot the man who was ‘responsible’.  The shooter is still at large.  *sighs*  This is the first murder that Ronnie has ever heard of in the county – he has lived here for for 48 years.

I am tired and going to bed.  The shot gun is loaded and is sitting by the bed.  I am happy to be alive!  Will write tomorrow.

March 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. I spent summers while in college working at the Homestead. I married a young man from Warm Springs. I just can’t imagine how that could happen. I remember being a butter girl and walking through the kitchen to get to the dining area. Just so blessed that not more people got injured because that is such a close space.

    I miss the beauty of Bath and I know that you all will get through this.

    Are there stop lights in Bath County yet? Remember when they put up a temporary light to work on the road down past Sam Sneads pub. LOL. You would have thought Queen Elizabeth was in Bath County. LOL

    Comment by G. "Williams" Squire | March 24, 2009 | Reply

    • I am thankful that not more people were shot. Just confirms that he was after specific people. I spoke to a lady today whose boss was standing there when it happened. She said that Kerr was talking to someone when Hackney walked in and started shooting. Ronnie was not there initially but walked in shortly after; Hackney unloaded the remainder of the clip. Both men were shot in the face. *shudders*
      I enjoy living here and have started locking my doors – the first time in 4 years.

      No stop lights yet! LOL This county can be so funny at times. =) That innocence is some of what I love about this place. Thank you for visiting the Ward House – come to visit again soon!

      Comment by Annette | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. I found your blog while Googling for update and hoping they’d found the killer. Do you know if Ronnie’s parents are still alive? His mother worked with my grandmother for many years in the Flower Shop at the hotel. I’d like to send her a note if she’s still living. I love your story about calling your home the Ward House. I spent most of my summers and all of my holidays in Hot Springs because I had both grandmothers there. I could tell you the “names” of all the houses on their street, some names were of people who had died before I was born. It makes me sad that almost no one in Hot Springs remembers my grandparents now.
    I’ve bookmarked your blog and you’ll get tired of me making comments, but Hot Springs is where all my good dreams take place. I look forward to starting at the beginning of your story and catching up!
    Anne Boleyn Pole

    Comment by Anne Boleyn | March 26, 2009 | Reply

    • I do not know about Ronnie’s parents and asked my boyfriend about it this morning (his name is also Ronnie). He has lived here all his life and does not think they were still here.
      It is interesting how people even today know homes by the family name rather than a physical address. I am still learning some of the details like the piggery and where the original meat locker was located (a church is there now), etc. Living in a small community is a learning experience. I love the sense of history!

      Comment by Annette | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. I knew too much time had passed when my maternal grandparents house went on the market last year as “the Trimble House”. In my heart I KNOW it is the “Boleyn House”, just as the administration building for the hospital is the “Pole House”, and the “Judah(sp) House” was my great aunt’s school house…. I could go on and on. I’d like to win the lottery so I could buy the Boleyn House!

    Comment by Anne Boleyn Pole | March 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh my goodness – I know the ‘Trimble House”! I had no idea about the pole house and Judah house. The Judah’s have several; is it the brick on the corner at the end of the main road (turn left to go to the Homestead) or the white siding on the hill (just one or two doors up from the Boleyn house)?

      Comment by Annette | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. It’s the white one up from the Boleyn house, in the front yard of the Pole (Dr. Lanier Dunn Pole) house. The schoolhouse was built by my great aunt. She had a school for kindergarten through first year high school there. Most of her students then went away to boarding schools for the last three years before college. Both of my parents went to that school. Also, King’s Victorian Inn was my great grandparents’ (Dr, Henry Stier Pole) house and was called Illahee when they built it and lived there. Dr. Myers’ house was my great uncle, Dr. Edgar Pole’s house.
    So you see why my heart is in Hot Springs!
    ABP

    Comment by Anne Boleyn Pole | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. I got married in Warm Springs in the Methodist church there. Too young to care about the fact that there wasn’t any running water in the church. Hand picked wildflowers and all.. The joy of the simple life. My ex-husbands family was big in sports there so Im sure your husband will know them. Kevin (my ex), Rayna, Tim and Chris (his brothers)and the girls Sarah and Yetta were also big in sports. His mom is just a jewel and miss coming to Bath to see her. Maybe I’ll make my way back up the rolling hills.

    Comment by G. "Williams" Squire | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. It’s nice that we’ve found this place to meet and remember good things.

    Comment by Anne Boleyn Pole | March 27, 2009 | Reply

    • Anne,
      I’ve been researching the Noera family and believe that your great aunt was Florence Ann Noera & your grandmother was Ernestine Chesley Noera. They were originally from Massachusetts & moved to Connecticut between 1894 & 1900. I’d love to share more of the family history with you.

      Nancy

      Comment by Nancy Brine Fredrickson | March 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

