Ward House

Little Miss Muffit sat on her tuffet


Does anyone other than me remember this rhyme? As a little girl I had wondered about what curds and whey were and from where this phrase came. This weekend I had the opportunity to check it out.

Now that the girls are not drinking as much milk, we have a surplus. Ronnie and I both enjoy cottage cheese and Julie suggested I give it a try so this seemed like an easy enough recipe:

  • 1 gal 2% milk (i used raw)
  • 1/2 vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt

Bring the milk to 190 degrees. Add vinegar and allow the mixture to cool. When cool, poor the mixture, now curds and whey, into a colander and drain off the whey. Pour curds into a bowl and season with salt.

Oh my it was sooo yummy and easy to make! Now my cheese was not as smooth as what one would buy in the store; the recipe said that cream could be added to make the consistency smoother. I have read from other bloggers about what to do with the whey (was that you Phelan?). Looks like I have more googling to do!

UPDATE: Rhonda, over at down to earth, just posted about making yoghurt and quark (reminds me of cottage cheese). I may try this next.

April 27, 2009 Posted by | Cooking, recipes | Leave a comment