Ward House

DNT challenge update

I am day late in posting this update. Fortunately, not a dollar short for once. One of the waitresses is out for the next two weeks so I have picked up her days plus my regular days. Makes for some nice jingle in the pocket though not much sleep in the bod. *yawns* Anyway, check out my earlier post about goals; this is what I’ve accomplished so far:

  1. No walking to work yet – still working on the logistics of the p/t job and kid activities.
  2. Have already put out feelers for unwanted windows.
  3. sewing machine still a big ?. The closest service center is almost 2 hours away (one way).
  4. tallow is still in the fridge.
  5. Purchased a banner that kind of fits my magpie, fairy-diddle behaviors. Completed the policies, about me, etc and listed my first items. Please let me know what you think.

One of the massage therapists that works at the Warm Spirit Spa (located in the Grist Mill) was in the bar last night (while I was working, obviously) and we got to talking about massage therapy as a business. On several occasions she mentioned that it was her opinion that I would be really good at it. Not sure why she thinks that. Anyway, I am giving her statement serious thought and it seems that as hours pick up at the restaurant and my hours at home are less I wonder if I am in the right place. I’ve posted about listening to ones intuition and my intuition says that I am not in the right place. Right now my actions are all about doing what will pay the bills. Yes, I preach to the girls to do something they enjoy and the money will come. I can say that to them because I will be there to help them until they get onto their feet; a safety net I do not have. Massage therapy is a skill that I would be able to barter, along with sewing, gardening, cooking, etc. I have concerns about being in insurance as the economy continues to tank. Already there are clients who have do not have a bank requirement for insurance and therefore canceled their home insurance policies. More of this will happen as money becomes more scarce. My computer/artsy skills will become less needed as people will stop internet service in favor of electricity, food and other essentials.

Massage therapy pulls from the creative dance side of me. Did you know that for 10+ years I studied middle eastern dance? The group I used to perform with can be found here. I stopped performing 2 years ago – could no longer afford the 2-hour drive to practices and classes. This picture is from a gallery opening we performed at in Blacksburg several years ago. This field fits my tattoo’d and peirced personality. I have yet to meet another insurance agent with a nose pin!

What are your thoughts? I am willing to invest in this program if it will help with the future. Not quiting my day job either; going to keep going with it for as long as I can.

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | Doing not thinking, family, sewing

2 Comments »

  1. You never cease to amaze me. If you want to go for it go for it. Check the market in your area is my only suggestion. Here in our county there are just too many massage therapists for the actual number of customers…

    Comment by Kathie | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL hope I don’t scare you! =)

    Comment by Annette | May 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

