Ward House

Suds & Bubbles

I gave notice on Sunday, the 14th, that June would be the last month for me to work the 2nd job at the Grist Mill restaurant. This is a big step for me as I enjoy having the extra cash available; however, there is more to life than working for someone else all the time. Without that extra job I plan to do more from and around the house, including blogging, crafting, canning when the garden comes in, and. . . soap making! It amazed me on how many articles there about soap making. Phelan, of A Homesteading Neophyte, mentioned one time how books cannot/do not tell you everything so I am coming to my readers/stalkers. My questions include:

  • what kind of scales do you use? I’d like to stick with the non digital kind and am curious on the brand/type you like to use. I found this one though the $39.99 price tag seems a little stiff for me. Worth it, though, if the scale is good quality and will last awhile.
  • Lye – I found some great soap supplies at Lehman’s though they have a reputation of being pricey. Who do you go to?
  • Soap molds – again, who do you go to for these? Or did you just make one?
  • What part of the process did you find most difficult? Is there a recipe that you just love? Is there something I should know that the online articles do not mention?
  • Is there a book on soap making that you would recommend?

I appreciate the time you take to check in with the Ward House and appreciate any advise you have to give. =)

Have a great day!

June 16, 2009 - Posted by | Crafting, family, Gardening, self sufficiency

3 Comments »

  1. I'm sorry I don't have any info for you (digital scale user unfortunately) but once again I'm watching with admiration. Soap-making is something I've always wanted to do. With the move coming up I probably won't find time to do it before the end of the year, but I'm thinking of making some as Christmas gifts if I get the opportunity. It's something I'd love to receive myself. Handmade things are always better than store bought in my opinion.

    Comment by Lisa | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. The best and a must have is "the soap makes companion" Google it, you can get it cheaper browsing amazon…invaluable!

    Comment by Welcome To Wilmoth Farms | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. I did see the soap companion and wondered how it compared to the other books available – so many to choose from! Thank you for the recommendation. Will begin the saving pennies to purchase (add it to my wish list). =)

    Comment by Annette | June 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

