Ward House

My house trashy?

Yes, someone did call my house trashy; a cousin. Bothered me for a few seconds and then I realized that she mows an acre of grass, has a modest flower garden, no veggies growing in her life and her husband is abusive. Unhappiness brews discontent and criticism of others. I like this cousin and work with her at the restaurant; my girls just love her and she is fun to be with so her comment caught me off guard – until I remembered her circumstances. We have offered her shelter many times and she has not yet taken us up on it.

I reveal all this to talk about other’s opinions on the homesteader lifestyle. My house does not have a manicured lawn or flower beds. We have a wide front porch that shelters our favorite sitting spot – an old leather sofa! Yes, a little bit of West Virginia right here in Hot Springs! LOL Not bashing any West Virginia readers – remember that WV was part of Virginia until June 20, 1863. The ‘creation’ of WV is an interesting story; my info was found here. This same porch also houses a modest table and a few chairs – the place where Ronnie and I share breakfast on the nice mornings, when the wind is not blowing rain sideways.

Our family is happy here and with our lifestyle. The neighbors on both sides are happy with us (as far as we can tell) and life is good. Do not worry about other’s opinions; we do not know their circumstances. I am not, however, advocating acceptance of bad, rude, or cruel behavior. People never cease to amaze me.

Our front yard (minus the plywood on the porch)

The side garden (bird bath is in the good neighbors garden)
The main garden as can be seen from the yard (red pvc is gone)
June 18, 2009 - Posted by | economy, family, politics, self sufficiency

5 Comments »

  1. Lisa, I am so sorry I hit the wrong button and your post went *bleck*; I did have the email so this is what she said…"Rustic, yes, as in I can tell you haven't had a landscaper come in and design your yard. Trashy no. What I consider 'trashy'? Actual junk stored in the yard – old wrecked cars sitting around, garbage strewn from here to there, possessions of no use and in no use, a state of property that evokes a gloomy, depressed feeling, like the inhabitants have issues preventing them taking any joy in their surroundings.Which I feel for, but it's still hard living around it because it tends to drag me down. We currently live in a neighborhood like that and are surrounded by it on all sides. Another reason I'll be glad to go."Lisa, I am so sad to hear about where you live and hope you are able to move to a 'brighter' place soon!

    Comment by Annette | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. I'm so laughing! Your home is anything BUT trashy…come visit the backwoods of Kentucky….LOL Seriously you have a lovely place and that porch…geez you should see all the outdoor seating we have on our porch, but if you dive by at any time, there is usually a porch full so seating is a requirement! LOL As far as that comment…LOL all you can do is laugh, and you can only help someone when they are ready to help themselves! By the way…how did you get this template for your blog..not the background but the rest? Very cool!

    Comment by Welcome To Wilmoth Farms | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Thank you. =) You are so right – you cannot help someone until they are ready to help themselves! As for the template, found it on templatelite and paid someone $10 to convert it from css to xhml (wordpress speak to blogger speak). All the specifics are at the bottom of the page. It was worth every penny! Was this what you were looking for?

    Comment by Annette | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Your house is lovely…I would love to have a porch like yours, very Country Living.

    Comment by julesinseach | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thank you Jules. I love this home and the front porch is our evening living space. Watched fireflies dance in the trees last night. =)

    Comment by Annette | June 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

