Ward House

Random acts of kindness

Yesterday I posted about what was for lunch. What I left out was what happened while in the store purchasing said french loaf and cheese. I had two items in hand and a little, older lady in front of me had a cart with maybe a dozen things. She offered to let me go in front of her because of my two items. I gratefully accepted as lunch time is too short to spend in a line at the grocery.

I had a $20 bill and my purchase was $8.something-or-nother. I pocketed the $1.something change and told the cashier to put the remaining $10 towards the groceries of this little older lady behind me. With that I walked out hoping that the cashier indeed used it towards her bill instead of placing it in his pocket.

Now, this story was shared not to acquire accolades although I did feel AMAZING, acting so randomly. Now that I am not working part time at the restaurant, that kind of money will no longer be available and this type of randomness may not be possible; my ‘gut’ was screaming for me to leave the money and so I did. Hopefully someone will do that for my Grandmother.

Where does the term ‘gut instinct’ come from anyway?

July 1, 2009 - Posted by | economy, family

7 Comments »

  1. Which reminded me of this. (long, so you can delete)A guy shopping in a supermarket noticed a little old lady following him around.If he stopped, she stopped. Furthermore she kept staring at him. She finally overtook him at the checkout, turned to him and said, "I hope I haven't made you feel ill at ease; it's just that you look so much like my late son." He answered, "That's okay.""I know it's silly, but if you'd call out "Good bye, Mom" as I leave the store, it would make me feel so happy."She then went through the checkout .. and as she was on her way out of the store, the man called out, "Goodbye, Mother."The little old lady waved and smiled back at him and said “Thank you”.Pleased that he had brought a little sunshine into someone's day, he went to pay for his groceries."That comes to $121.85," said the clerk."It can't be that much ! I only bought 5 items."The clerk replied "Yes, but your Mother said you'd pay for her things, too."DON'T TRUST LITTLE OLD LADIES

    Comment by Meadowlark | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL A friend sent that to me last week – GMTA! (Great minds think alike). =)

    Comment by Annette | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. Awesome. I get the feeling she did. Another thing, can't believe you like tribal bellydance too! My favorite song so far for dancing remains "Vivre" by Zap Mama. I love watching this video (-> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjTsjS_cixM), it's what got me hooked on it. 🙂

    Comment by Lisa | July 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Love that video! My youtube fav list is just amazingly long. This is a recent video of the group I used to perform with (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5laq5RA2dYM). Cannot afford the 2 hour drive one way to take classes or rehearsals – it is hard to believe that I was making that drive twice as week! oy! How long have you been dancing? do you still dance?

    Comment by Annette | July 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Lisa I found that tune you mentioned at last.fm there is even an online station that plays her music (http://www.last.fm/listen/artist/Zap%2BMama/similarartists#pane=webRadioPlayer&station=%252Flisten%252Fartist%252FZap%252BMama%252Fsimilarartists). Great music! *dances in the chair*

    Comment by Annette | July 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. I love those little showdowns they did through the routine. Wonderful! Thanks for the radio link! I've been interested in dancing since 2006 but only as a hobby. When I first considered taking it up I looked and found there weren't any groups near me so I ordered some videos and started practicing on my own at home. I had to put it on hold since my last pregnancy but I still dance occasionally. It's great for fitness and I love that it's one of the few hobbies all women can participate in. 🙂

    Comment by Lisa | July 4, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lol! I just read Meadowlark's comment! These kind of incidents make people think before helping the old out! At times the needy gets ignored! 😦

    Comment by WildBlack | July 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

