Ward House

Waiting. . .

The following notice was forwarded to us today:

…has asked that we reduce overhead in all of our projects. We are carefully assessing the staffing levels for Homestead Preserve and all related entities in Hot springs.

For my department (insurance), it is just me and one other person. There have already been two layoffs and a whole division was cut (the building company). My department was untouched. Not sure what else can go. *sighs*

What will be, will be.

UPDATE: I just heard that those who are left behind will be required to take a pay cut. I wonder if I will be able to cancel my health insurance, of which the company pays a huge part, instead of an hourly cut. Can anyone offer advise on this one?

July 14, 2009 - Posted by | economy

3 Comments »

  1. I'm sending good thoughts you way.

    Comment by Kathie | July 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good luck.Do you have access to other health insurance? The company might go for it, given how hugely expensive health coverage is, but I wouldn't go without. (Did that in my 20s. Wouldn't do it now!)

    Comment by Teresa from Homemakers | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. My preference is not to go without insurance. With the salary cuts, I will probably qualify for Medicaid – though not something I want to do since the system is failing. *shakes head* Not sure the company would even go for my idea – stuck into waiting for Monday/Tuesday. *drums fingers*

    Comment by Annette | July 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

