Ward House

Oh deer!

An exclamation, in a way. The deer attacked the lower garden last night, pushing through the mesh fencing and munching almost down to stubs, the cannelli and painted pony beans. Seems they are not too fond of black bean plants. *sighs* That means tonight, in the rain, we will be installing a pallet fence around the lower garden.

With everything deer have to eat in the woods and clover in the yard, why would they attack the beans? It was not exactly an easy target, though they were able to push through, unlike a pallet fence. *sighs*

My camera is full and after work today I’ll unload, post some pics from our glorious weekend and then get some pictures of deer damage. Looks like I need to start picking/canning a little early!

Doing, Not Thinking Challenge : I have been remiss in posting and update, so voila!

  1. Walking to work – I think this may have been a too hefty a goal for the moment. Kids activities have thrown a monkey wrench into the whole works. I am still trying to accomplish this for at least two days of the week.
  2. The remaining green house supplies arrived two weeks ago. Ronnie is working to finish the last bedroom upstairs before starting on this project. I guess my work is done for the moment, eh?
  3. Sewing machine – bought the new Brother, am sew happy now. =) Will post pictures of the skirt I made later one.
  4. Tallow – in the freezer. I am not going to cook this down until I can use the woodstove. Need to split some wood.
  5. Etsy is up, though no activity. I’m just blah here.

No news yet on the job. . . waiting. . .

July 20, 2009 - Posted by | Doing not thinking, Gardening

4 Comments »

  1. I don't know if you're a vegetarian/vegan/PETA sympathizer and thus I'm about to offend you with the following comment (hope not!), but if it were me I'd borrow a gun and have me those deer and save my crops. Very lean meat on a deer.

    Comment by Lisa | July 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. It's amazing how deer in the garden can quickly become venison in the freezer ;)You're doing great on your goals!

    Comment by Kathie | July 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh, I am very ready to shoot the deer; amazingly, I'd have to get a permit!! Unless someone has a bow I can use. LOL Might just pay one of the local bow hunters to come sit. =)

    Comment by Annette | July 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Pay them with a share of the meat and you pay the butcher costs and I bet they'd gladly do it.

    Comment by Lisa | July 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

