Ward House

Checking account vs no checking account

Ronnie does not have a checking account and up until now, we use mine for online purchases, etc. I am wondering if having a checking account is really a wise decision when I can purchase a reusable visa card on which to put money for these online transactions.

Yes, I realize that what I am saying is contrary to what ‘officials’ will say about the economy. I do not trust officials as they are still on the road to Oz. I have stepped off the yellow brick road, still walking beside though. Now it appears to be time to walk my own road.

What are your thoughts? Do you have/not have a checking account? Why/Why not?

August 7, 2009 - Posted by | economy, family

4 Comments »

  1. Of course I have a checking account. Always have. Always will.The reason it is a wise decision for us is we see on a daily basis the extra expense incurred by those without – OK, I am talking homeless, so it's a bit different – as they try to go about their day to day lives.I'm not sure I'd know how to pay my bills – can you say worthless student loans 😉 – without one.

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. I have one, my husband has one. Both names are on both accounts, but neither of us uses the other's account. My income is unreliable, so I get a share (my allowance?) of my husband's paycheck to put into my account. We each have househole bills we take responsibility for, and our own transportation needs. For food, I do quite a bit of the main grocery shopping and a sundries trip monthly, he picks up occasional little items at the store and pays if we go out for dinner. It's worked for us for 20 years.

    Comment by Sadge | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. We have several checking & savings accounts. All kept at small local banks that have been in business for years with very responsible practices. I'm not sure I'd keep my money in some of those larger banks that seem to be in trouble, but the local guys seem safe too me.Where else would you keep your money? If you are able to save up six months to a year's salary for emergencies – I wouldn't feel safe having that in the house…

    Comment by Kathie | August 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. Kathie, that would be the dilema. I use one of the local, non big banks (just this county and the next one over) so I think I may be ok. On a similar note, I'm thinking that my girls savings bonds would be better off cashed and placed in a savings account at that same bank!

    Comment by Annette | August 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

