Ward House

Bored with myself

Meadowlark’s post, towards the end (not the married to a cop speak, though that was some cool stuff – squirrel phone, heh!), hit home with me. I have not written much cause I seem to be caught in a summer funk. The garden is struggling and as I try to can tomatoes I find that so much of these are not edible; these are twisted, warped tomatoes. Their name must be freakishly twisted Frankenstein tomatoes. I am so not growing these again next year. What happened to regular, sometimes odd shaped tomatoes?

My previous post showed the bean beetle damage we experienced – it is tough growing organic, no insecticide veggies. It appears that I am not the only one. Deborah has/is having the same challenge. I did break down and spray the new sweet meat squash and cinderella pumpkin plants with some stink bug killer. We harvest 4 yellow squash this year – out of four plants! I cannot loose these other plants. *sighs* The corn, at least, is doing well along with green peppers and banana peppers.

Tonite we are going to a birthday party for two of Ronnie’s cousins and while the girls go down the street for a fall sports pool party. Then, hopefully, I can prepare/can more tomatoes.

I needed to change the blog set up – spark some creativity. Let me know if you prefered the fence.

August 19, 2009 - Posted by | Cooking, family, Gardening

6 Comments »

  1. The colors made my eyes hurt.:(I'm mean today I guess.But I did change that post. Something like 8 times. So there is no "secret squirrel" reference anymore.I really need to take a break and grill some zucchini!

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ok, Meadowlark, is this better? =)

    Comment by Annette | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. :)And we can't grow pumpkins. But I have about 5 delicata squash!!!!!

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Why can you not grow pumpkins? I've never heard of delicata squash – will have to google that one!

    Comment by Annette | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Growing season is too short and NORMALLY we have frosts even in June. THAT SAID… this year we have not had a frost since late May and I don't see any on the horizon. This TOTALLY would be a year to have planted corn. :(Normally our nights drop to low 40s and pumpkins never seem too thrilled with it.

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. Ah… I wondered if it was due to critters. =) The volunteer pumpkins seem to be doing very well and are happy. *shrugs* Who'da thunk!

    Comment by Annette | August 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

