Ward House

I am going to learn to knit socks

I have wanted to learn to knit socks for awhile now and have tried, unsuccessfully, to pay a ‘local’ to teach me so I am going to wing it using this site from Sharon’s Great Sock Rant of ’05 and YouTube. Sharon includes some great information on fiber and how to make your own knitting materials; I am not so far along that I can make my own yarn, or want to try (the old CD thing intrigues me). We do not have enough land and I do not have the energy atm to fight the county by installing llamas or sheep so angora rabbits have my vote for the here and now.

Now that my wages have been cut (allows me to keep my job) I do not have nor want to spend extra $ to purchase double sided knitting needles and realized that we have a slew of chopsticks that were given to us by a friend who moved (thanx Jamie!) and the one end could be cut down to form the other pointed side. *puffs up proudly* Thank you Sharon for allowing my moment of enlightenment to occur! =)

When to begin… an excellant question! After work I need to start bread (Artisian Bread in 5 minutes a day), finish hulling and begin canning beans, can tomatoes, go to a viewing (sad), and make some Lemon Balm tea for Ronnie – he gets these stress induced canker sores in his mouth – using this recipe I found on the encyclopedia of spices:

Lemon Balm Tea
(with fresh or dried leaf)
1heaping tablespoon of dried leaves
2 tablespoons of fresh leaves for each cup of boiling water
(or make sun tea by placing herbs and cool water in covered jar in the sun for a few hours)
strain add honey and, or lemon.

I read where commercial brand toothpaste may contribute to the frequency of cankers and wonder if we switched to a natural type, would it help reduce the frequency of these nasty sores? Can anyone speak to the commercial toothpaste thing? How many of you have switched to a natural or homemade toothpaste/powder? What product or recipe did you move to? I may try this recipe(below) this evening and see what happens.

Thoroughly mix 3 parts baking soda (the cleanser and sweetener) with part salt (the abrasive) and funnel the compound into a short small-mouthed container such as a pop or beer bottle. You’ll find that the creation has a satisfying, different taste and leaves your mouth feeling very fresh and soothed. If you’d like, add a few drops of peppermint or wintergreen oil to the concoction.

Then this one also looks effective.

SUPER CLEANSER

Ingredients:

Directions: Make a paste by combining the two ingredients. Use this paste on your teeth and also gently rub along your gums two times a week.

Ok, I believe I have ‘rambled’ enough for the moment. Will keep you posted on what happens.

August 20, 2009 - Posted by | Cooking, family, recipes

8 Comments »

  1. I keep telling myself that this year I'm going to learn socks. I have dpns but since I've never learned to fix a mistake, as soon as there's a problem I launch the entire thing across the room than unravel it.Think Lemon Balm would fix a hot temper? 🙂

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL I have issues with fixing knitting problems and have launched then unraveled many a project – and Ronnie says I must have patience to unravel and begin again! FDLActually, Lemon Balm and chalomine (sp?) are rumored to help with calming. I may need to try some myself. =)

    Comment by Annette | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. I bought yarn! I may not get any further.What pattern are you using? What size needles does it call for? Do you have a gauge doohickey?Sorry for all the questions.

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ask away chickee. The instructions I am going to use can be found here (http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/) I apologize for not including the link into my post. Double pointed needle size is either a 2/3 or 4/5 depending on the yarn you are going to use. Glad you brought this up as I will have to check the size of the sticks I made last night. That would be so like me to knit a sock that I cannot wear! LOL

    Comment by Annette | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. wooo hoooo!!!!!no you don't i have a set of 3s to send you!!!!unless you don't want to use 3s. i guess were supposed to do some sort of stupid "test swatch" thing. yeah, right. I don't expect to actually WEAR the things, just finish them.Let me know if 3s will work.

    Comment by Meadowlark | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. Not that I am non receptive to knitting needle gifts, definately knit yourself some socks! Now if you can wear them after, that's a bonus! =) I have a 6 year old niece and 3 yr old nephew that I am sure can wear anything too small. They are at that sweet age that it doesnt even have to match! MuhahaI cannot wait to get started!

    Comment by Annette | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  7. I was going to comment that I use a really strong lemon balm decoction (boil together equal amounts dried balm and water, let set until cool) for stress cold sores, and link to when I wrote about it, so checked back and see you've already found that post :-)http://firesignfarm.blogspot.com/search?q=lemon+balmRe: your question about french drains – I guess what's in our cellar would more properly be called a dry well, because it only drains down into the sandy soil below it. French drains are trenches filled with rocks that slant enough to carry the water away. In basements, a french drain along the edge of the walls can channel water to either a dry well (if water will percolate into your soil), or a sump pump, or continue to a french drain outside that drops below the level of your basement (say, if you're on a hill).

    Comment by Sadge | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  8. After reading your post I did research on a french drain and was trying to figure out how we could make something like that work in an already established basement. LOL The dry well sounds more like what we need to do. =) Thanks Sadge!

    Comment by Annette | August 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

