Ward House

Canning failure

Until yesterday afternoon, I felt fairly confident in my canning abilities. In the last 3 years, I have had one jar break during canning and three quarts of beans not seal. Not bad odds for a novice canner, IMHO.

Saturday my friend, no-pictures-please Beth treated me to one of Maggies’ fabulous canning classes (birthday present) and in this class we made dill pickles. I learned so many new things during this class, including to check the rims of your jars to make sure there are no nicks (leads to an improper seal) and that I can use 2 grape leaves in place of alum to keep those pickles crisp. Beth and I had great fun and after the class, we visited one of the local wineries. Mmm, Mmm, Good!

So Sunday I was determined to finish canning the corn I had taken off the cob Friday. Friday was a successful corn canning day. Every jar sealed and the corn looks so pretty! I think I left my canning mojo at Maggies. Look at this corn – what happened? As far as I can tell, my process did not change: wood stove and canner are the same. Times were the same. ???? Can one of you expert canning gurus offer some suggestions? I’m thinking too hot? Though the canner should have indicated the heat was off, yes? Anything else?

I am very sad about the 7.5 quarts that are now useless. Well, I am guessing they are useless; all jars sealed and I have not opened one yet. *sighs* Could it just be discolored and not burnt?

August 31, 2009 - Posted by | Canning, wood cook stove

4 Comments »

  1. Not sure what might have happened, but just to throw my 2 cents out ther (because I never can help myself, lol!), it's way better to freeze fresh corn than to can it. Really keeps the fresh flavor of the corn better.I just give it a quick blanch, right into an ice water bath (still on the cob!), then cut it off and throw it into some baggies (I really like the ones you can suck the air out of).Wow, my first visit to your blog and I'm already being nosey! Just poke me and I'll stop, lol!

    Comment by mrsb | August 31, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL! Okay, that'll teach me to post before reading more, as you JUST posted about doing this! Like I said, just give me poke.

    Comment by mrsb | August 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. LOL you are too funny. =) Actually, we did freeze some with one of those nifty vacuum sealers (though, they do not seal with with high moisture content). My fear is that if/when the power fails this winter, the frozen corn will be lost. Looks like I loose either way! =)

    Comment by Annette | August 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. I have been told that homemade corn and store bought look way different and home canned corn turns brown when you do it. So I don't think there is anything wrong with it. But if you have any more questions you can go over to MRS. Survival forums. There is a section preserving the harvest. You can ask and post pics and one of them can surely help you out. They have been a life saver for me a time or two.

    Comment by Yart | September 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

