Ward House

I heart Rosemary

Rosemary is one of my favorite plants, though I have not been successful in wintering it over. This year it is growing in a different spot; someplace that will give it sun through the winter and a warm wall to reflect some heat. Cross your fingers.

I grow herbs that I love to smell and use in the kitchen. If they have a medicinal use, all the better. Rosemary is one of those herbs. Tansy’s post over at Not Dabbling prompted me to surf for a medicine chest use for this rosemary and before sharing what was found, allow me to enlighten you as to the most frequent booboo’s in our family; scratches and scraps with some occasional splinters sprinkled in for added fun. Rosemary’s antibiotic properties are perfect for making a wound wash: 1/2 cup rosemary needles steeped in 2C 90% proof vodka for 6-8 weeks, shake once a week then strain into a dark bottle. I plan to start the steeping tonite!

I’ve also read where the rosemary scent is good for helping memory recall. This is true if you smell the scent while, say, studying and then smell the scent while taking the test. Can you tell that I tried this? Cannot say if it really helped me or if I was just naturally brilliant on that test. LOL The power of scent is no secret.

Next – Calendula (which is currently in bloom).

September 1, 2009 - Posted by | family, herbs

5 Comments »

  1. What zone are you?I've had rosemary winter over in zone 4, with a beautiful southern exposure, next to a house. It was gorgeous, about 3 1/2 feet tall. Unfortunately, the 5th winter did her in. 😦

    Comment by Meadowlark | September 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh no! What was different about the 5th winter? This rosemary has a southern exposure. . .

    Comment by Annette | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. I love rosemary! I have an awesome rosemary/vodka tincture going now, among others, and can't wait til it's ready.

    Comment by mrsb | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. mrsb, for what 'issues' do you use your tincture?

    Comment by Annette | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Gee whiz I love it too! I like to eat it too of course, but just smelling it makes me smile!

    Comment by warren | September 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

