Ward House

Why do you Homestead?

If the term Homesteading is too broad for what you are doing (large garden, chickens, etc), then revamp the question to Why do you do what you do? My desire to homestead comes from, I believe, growing up with my special forces, let-me-show-you-how-to-make-napon-at-6-years-old, you-need-to-know-how-to-survive, gloom & doom dad with some disgruntlement over current affairs sprinkled on top for color.

What lead to this question was a thought provoking (for me anyway) post from The World To Muse While Waiting For Roanoke (my hometown). His observations, along with those from Sharon over at Casaubon’s Book, and Phelan at Homesteading Neophyte (or was it Kansas Preppers) placed in a bright light what it is we are trying to do/live here in Hot Springs: relearn those forgotten skills that will give the largest possible chance at survival. This skills set promises a more healthy lifestyle, better food, sense of personal satisfaction and of community (hopefully).

Oh, good news! Ronnie is bartering work (fixing a window) for a pressure canner with the little weight! Whoo Hoo!

Anyway, this is not to create panic but hopefully a chance for reflection – why do you homestead? What brought you to this lifestyle?

September 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Hooray for the pressure canner barter! But your question bears some thought- Why do I do what I do? Hmmm… It's been a long and odd path that has lead me here. Maybe I'll do a post about it sometime- it's too long to leave here.Thanks for the food for thought.JudyOh, and good luck with the socks!

    Comment by fullfreezer | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. hee hee Thanks Judy. The socks are well underway. Well, about a 1/4 inch.

    Comment by Annette | September 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. We keep a big garden, growing and preserving as much as we can during the summer (we really want to find a place with a yard big enough for *real* homesteading!).One of the biggest reasons we started doing it when we did was because we really liked the idea of organic foods, but couldn't afford that many, lol!It's been a real help on the food bills lately, so that is a huge extra bonus.And, of course, I feel so much closer to the earth and the natural way of being when I've got my hands in the dirt, or I'm opening up a jar of my own tomatoes in the middle of winter!

    Comment by mrsb | September 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. mrsb, I totally agree. It is very grounding to have ones hands or tootsies covered in dirt. Love that feeling.

    Comment by Annette | September 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. I'd hardly call what we do homesteading–we're suburban crunchy folks with a big garden, an overstocked pantry, and a fondness for home-baked bread. I think as much as anything we do it for pleasure. I enjoy working outside or with my hands as a break from the cerebral work of writing and book keeping. We both enjoy the high-quality food. More and more, though, I also like the feeling of knowing that in case of emergency, we can make sure we eat.

    Comment by TeresaNoelleRoberts | September 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

