Ward House

Going to the County Fair!

I’ve never been to a county fair before so attending the Highland County Fair was exciting. We missed the farm animal shows (what is the other name for this) but were there for the truck/tractor pulls. It was an exciting day.

We did not leave for the fair early as we were waiting for all the kids to be up (they stayed up late the night before – slumber party) and while waiting, Ronnie and I went out to pick grapes and came back with a bowl full. I think, though, this is all we will get; last falls pruning made this years harvest smaller. Next years should be amazing.

I am thankful for the extra day off (Labor Day) for much cooking and canning:

  • (8) half pints of kiwi jam – the neighbor bought more than they could use so she brought it over. We love kiwi. =)
  • (7) quarts dill pickles
  • Quart of potato soup – this was eaten promptly; no canning.
  • (2) quarts potato salad for the cookout we attended this evening
  • Granola
  • biscuits
  • (1) pint ketchup

The brussel sprouts are ready and I believe some of these will be dilled. Mmm Mmm Good! Needless to say I am one whipped puppy. Not too whipped, though, to share in the saga of “One girl, four needles and one sock”. You can see in the work where I was distracted or had to lay it down mid needle. Some important tips:

  1. make sure your yarn is in a ball prior to starting.
  2. finish knitting a needle before putting down your work

Once the ‘neck’ is 8 inches I can begin the heel. Won’t that be fun.

Nite all!

September 7, 2009 - Posted by | Canning, Cooking

5 Comments »

  1. I think the animal showing is called 4H? At least, it's what we call it here.I am heading to the Fall Fair here next weekend. Thanks for the peek! Oh, and lovely grapes!

    Comment by Rue | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. I see it! That's usually when I launch the thing across the room because I'm all messed up. I suppose it would be more effective to finish a poorly made sock, then never finish any sock, wouldn't it.OK. I bought an actual sock book.{sigh… picking up the needles yet AGAIN}

    Comment by Meadowlark | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. You go girl! *holds Meadowlark's hand* I figured, "what the hay". Nobody is going to be that close; if they are they get kicked! =) Next one will be better. The first one always works the kinks out.Which book did you buy?

    Comment by Annette | September 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. Toe-up Techniques for handknit socks.It was at the checkout counter at Joann's.But at least with a book (vice internet) I can go through it over and over and over and leave it open next to me while I try. 🙂

    Comment by Meadowlark | September 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. Very true about the book; keep me posted about how you like/dislike the book. I may snag a copy for myself!

    Comment by Annette | September 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

