Ward House

Are you hangry?

It is amazing what one finds when trying to start a fire. In firing up the cook stove and putting back the extra newspaper, I found the most delightful article. This is from the 9/2/09 edition of the Washington Post; page E8 and written by Joe Yonan. I was unable to find it online, so have quoted the parts that I liked the most here. The article title is “When I’m Very, Very Hangry”.

The idea of appetizers for one sounds silly: What would I do, pass an hors d’oeuvre tray from one hand to another? Silly or not, at the end of a long workday, I’m so cranky from hunger (what I like to call “hangry”) that I need something to snack on quickly while I’m cooking. Otherwise I cannibalize dinner ingredients as I go, turning something like shrimp in tomato sauce over linguini into a multi-course non-meal of shrimp followed by tomato sauce followed by linguini, each element lonely and relatively tasteless without the others.

He goes on to say,

…what I’ve needed is something vibrant, sharp and satisfying, not bing-inducing”.

I can definately relate to being in a hangry state, especially while getting ingredients together and waiting for the cook stove to heat up. What’s a hangry girl to do? Have some satisfying, non bing-inducing snackage ready to roll. Mr. Yonan then described some of his favorite snacks including bruschetta. I LOVE bruschetta, however it would take me almost along to throw that together as the meal I was supposed to be creating. The key, I believe, is thinking ahead and even prepping some of it ahead of time. You already know that; I know that. It is one thing to know, another to have it together enough to actually do.

Last month, I bought Artisan Bread in 5-minutes a Day and found the main recipe very easy to use. There are numerous other bread types listed and those I will try someday. Until then, the master recipe is it – so lovely with some goat cheese and a slice of tomato… or not. The veggie or lack thereof, will depend on what is in season, with exception to kale. I am not putting kale on my fresh bread smeared with goat cheese. *bleck*

I know you have some great snack ideas and are dying to share them with me as I appear to be snack challenged. What do you keep on hand to nibble on while you cook?

September 11, 2009 - Posted by | Cooking

4 Comments »

  1. I actually do the bruschetta thing. I keep (especially this time of year when my garden is full)a small bowl of chopped tomatoes, peppers, and onion with some basil in my fridge. If I have 5 minutes I throw it on a hunk of baguette and broil it with a dot of mozarella for a few minutes. But if I'm stuck for time, I use it as instant salsa with a Rosemary and Olive Oil Triscuit cracker!

    Comment by Rue | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Rue, you make it sound so easy! I am going to try your idea.

    Comment by Annette | September 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. I love kale and Country Living mag has three interesting kale recipes in Oct issue. I snack on yogurt and granola but I also enjoy bruschetta.Love the word "hangry"; gosh, do I ever know that feeling and the older I get, the worse that feeling gets when I allow myself to get too hungry.

    Comment by Thistle Cove Farm | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. I have homemade granola at the house and need to remember it is there for more than just breakfast – heavens the girls to. I make granola every other day!Hopefully within the next few days I'll get some bruschetta fixin's ready. Being hangry does affect me more now that I am older – not sure why… Hmmm

    Comment by Annette | September 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

