Ward House

Socking it

As promised, I have pictures! The cuff still has a few hiccups and I cannot explain why other than this is a learning process. The heel went well and this picture was taken prior to my pulling it out – yes. I pulled out the heel and am redoing it now that I know what I am doing. *cough* What did I learn? At the end of each row you must either knit or purl, depending on the row. You cannot let that last stitch be a slip or it creates a fubar situation. Allow me to demonstrate. . .

This is what it looks like when you slip the last stitch; there should not be that one loop that kinda of runs through each row – this loop does not grow and becomes tight if you have enough rows completed. Thus my, you cannot end a row with a slip; either purl or knit. And this is why I am pulling the work out. If not corrected now, it will create a problem later on. Every row, on both sides, should look like this.

While I was creating, brainstorming, and unraveling, my oldest and her friend finished this pinata for a Spanish class project. This is for decorative purposes only and is not to hold candy and beaten to death with a bat by blindfolded children.
It basically says that our every action affects the earth.

This weekend included 9 pints of apple sauce along with pickling brussel sprouts and banana peppers. Tonite, since I am out of canning materials (namely fruits and veggies) looks like it will be an evening of soup making and knitting.

Oh, I had some beef fat that I had saved to boil down for the tallow (soap making) and I think it burned – smells HORRIBLE! I believe the cook stove was too hot. =/ Any tips/hints on how to boil this down into a usable form? What should it look like when it’s done? Is dark brown unusable? *bleck*

September 21, 2009 - Posted by | Canning, Cooking, family, self sufficiency, wood cook stove

6 Comments »

  1. I've accomplished ZERO knitting.But we did put in a hottub pad this weekend.

    Comment by Meadowlark | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Your activity sounds way more fun than mine!

    Comment by Annette | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. You have had a really productive weekend!! Man I would love to have that much energy 🙂

    Comment by Janelle | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. LOL Janelle. =) I was in bed til 10:00 on Saturday. =) It did feel good to get so much done.

    Comment by Annette | September 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. No idea about the tallow. But the knitting is cool!

    Comment by mrsb | September 22, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thank you mrsb. =) I love knitting; pulling out work and redoing is not an issue for me… yet. Guess if I were in a time crunch that would be a different story.The big joke now is someone will get one sock for christmas. LOL

    Comment by Annette | September 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

