Ward House

Saturday + Sunday

It has been a quiet weekend, of sorts. Both Saturday and Sunday Ronnie and I spent cutting/splitting wood while the girls and a friend hung out here and got ready for the homecoming dance (Sat. nite); both girls enjoyed the dance, came home and collapsed into bed. Dancing is such hard work!

Cold temps have moved in with a wind that really makes me think of winter. Sunday we talked about stacking the corn stalks and decorating the front yard – talking is as far as we got. After 1 load of wood on Saturday and 3 loads yesterday we were pooped. Last night we did watch Sleepy Hollow with Johnny Depp. So enjoy me some Depp. =)

More Halloween giveaways – this ends today at 9pm est!

And a bit of sobering news: our local hospital’s billing office is closing at the end of this month. It would appear that people in Alabama can do the job for less than what the hospital was paying these local people. I am sad to see people loose their jobs (even if they were grouchy) and wonder how the older people in the community will cope with trying to talk a medical bill over the phone with someone who does not know them?

I am thankful to have a job, my home, and a healthy family.

October 5, 2009 - Posted by | economy, halloween

6 Comments »

  1. We really do have a lot to be thankful for. While I no longer have a job, crime (sadly) increases during economic hard times, which means more overtime for the Husband, which pretty much makes up the difference between unemployment and my pay. Plus we've paid off nearly all our debt (mortgage and student loans excluded- big sigh) and seem to "have" more now than we did. If I could just convince him to let me stay home permanently!!!On a related (or not) note… I finished two hats over the weekend. Woo hooo!!!! How goes the socks?

    Comment by Meadowlark | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Glad yet sad about the overtime – glad 'cause it's good for the wallet, sad 'cause it means that someone else is either desperate or just stupid (criminals).Congrats on the hats! Socks have not progressed much – days have been too busy, nights too tired and I hesitate to pick it up again until I can just sit 'n knit; need to be able to concentrate. Looks like this eve might be good – no after school activities.

    Comment by Annette | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Cutting & stacking wood is on our " To do List " , but hubby has about 3 side jobs going , so it's been put on the back burner. We have some wood from last year that will hopefully carry us through until we have time.~ Autumn Blessings ~

    Comment by JoyceAnn | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Side jobs makes it tough. We had some wood left over from last year so we are coming green and seasoned when we load up. Good luck! =)

    Comment by Annette | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hi Annette, I'm so sorry that the cold weather & wind have moved in and the pine cones I suggested didn't work for you!! (I just left a reply over at the co-op, I do hope it's helpful). We're still enjoying some unusual t-shirt fall weather over here, and I hope not to have to start our first fire of the season for another couple of weeksPS I noticed from your profile that you keep three blogs! I'm so very impressed! I'm often toying with the idea of starting a blog in my own language, but I don't think I could handle two blogs:(

    Comment by Francesca | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Francesca, you helped me immensely with your post at the co-op. I did not realize that you also used some newspaper; once I added that to the mix, the fire started right up and seemed to get hotter faster. I'll have to attribute that to the cones as nothing else had changed about how the fire was set.Do not be too impressed about the blogs, one is where I store photos that I may want to link to later and the other is just a rambling. =) Thank you though. =)

    Comment by Annette | October 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

