Ward House

New toys!

I could not wait to tell you about this. Please do not get upset if you are a coffee aficionado; I bought a non electric percolator to use on the wood stove. The electric coffee maker is just fine, though it has a different taste to it than the percolator. I prefer the percolator taste. Actually cold brew is the best, not set up for that atm. Oh and I also picked up two wind-up alarm clocks to replace the plug ins. Now for the exciting part – all for $10! Whoo hoo. Yes, I’ve already made a pot of coffee; 4 cups of water + 4 tbsp of coffee + time (will depend on how hot the stove is) = goodness.

Halloween giveaways that expire at 10 pm tonite:

While I am in here blogging, Ronnie and the girls have ceramic tile all over the living room floor creating the design that will be set around the upstairs bathroom tub. Yes, we will have a second working shower soon. Maybe by next weekend??

Tummys have begun to growl so it is time for me to make some dinner. K13 is doing better; her temp has come down to 100 or so, without the aid of meds. Means her body is fighting it off and will have some killer defenses!

Stay well.

October 10, 2009 - Posted by | family, self sufficiency

4 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear the health is improving. Especially "on her own". Kudos to our bodies.And I say HURRAY for the percolator. Of course, I make my coffee outside on the firepit in the camping coffee pot as often as I can get away with it, so I suppose I'm biased. :)Get knitting socks… I may actually start some during the mini-vacation!!!

    Comment by Meadowlark | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ronnie and I were just talking about catching up with Tico (her full name is Tina Colada – no joke!) to review my socking. I'll get started manna. It's 8pm and looks like we are headed to Lowes for a saw blade so Ronnie can finish the tile. Lowes is just over an hour away, one way. oy!When is your mini vacation?

    Comment by Annette | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Leave tomorrow, back Wednesday evening. It's about 6 1/2 hour away, and not really a "vacation" except that Husband and I will be in a hotel in the evenings. Daytime he'll be at class and I'll be sitting in the hotel knitting. :)And reading blogs.

    Comment by Meadowlark | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. That's right – WA state. When I first read that I thought it said WV and got all excited. Re-reading it made me realize I was not even on the right coast! LOL

    Comment by Annette | October 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

