Ward House

Getting ready for the Garden and giveaways

Our greenhouse will not be built in time to use for this year so seed starting will begin indoors, hogging the window space.  My challenge is how to create pots to use for seeds that will not require me to buy plastic.  The round, newspaper pots I made last year (using a glass) did not work well; the bottoms would not stay closed and the round shape made it difficult to keep them close together.

Thankfully, dancingfarmer has reposted information on how to make newspaper pots; this design makes sense to me and appears to be what I am looking for.  The link to directions can be found here.  There is also this video. . .

And now for giveaways:

  • An artful wand created by Marie Segal.  My favorite piece in her shop are the Dia De Los Muertos pendants. 
  • Beautiful babbles from M. Augusta Woodland. 

I spoke to the good neighbor today and she knows someone who has a garlic farm about 30 minutes from here.  He is coming to her place to talk garlic and I think I may head over to listen in. 

We might see snow this afternoon eve; it is raining and the current temp is 37.4.  Brrs!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

October 14, 2009 - Posted by | Gardening, greenhouse, halloween

2 Comments »

  1. I really like the peat 'pots' for growing my seedlings. I can buy them pretty cheap in bulk from the garden centre, but making your own out of paper is a wonderful way to 'reuse!'Stay warm!

    Comment by Rue | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Beautiful earrings! I have LOTS of them, they are a weakness of mine.I'm thinking about trying paper pots this spring so I'll have to practice a bit.Judy

    Comment by fullfreezer | October 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

