Ward House

"To everything there is a season

and a time to every purpose under heaven” (Eccl  3:1).  Yes, it is odd for me to be quoting scripture; there are some versus that are true regardless of one’s spiritual path.  I am in one of those ‘dark, cloudy, overcast’ times where the light at the end of the tunnel seems so far away I can barely see the glimmer.

As another blogger put it today, it is not all blue skies and sunshine.  Today Ronnie dropped me off at work on his way in, I am eating a peanut butter sandwich for lunch and will walk home after work Walking to work was my goal for the Doing Not Thinking Challenge; it did not come together during the challenge, perhaps it will now.  This dark time shall pass.  We will find a way through and will be wiser because of it.

One Green Generation has created an interesting challenge for the upcoming holidays; yes, it is getting close to that time again and if you are a crafter, it is too soon!  No way everyone will get socks this year, unless I use thicker yarn and larger needles!  On that note, I believe that using circular needles to create socks will produce a more seamless sock – yes, pictures are coming this eve!  Anyway, that leaves the question of what to create for whom.

You’ll notice that I’ve blogged (or blabbed) about numerous giveaways.  Aside from increasing the awareness of different artists, it is also an opportunity to win items to use for said holidays or other gift giving occasions.  I am not saying that I would give my Mom a set of runes that I won – it is not her thing.  That necklace?  Oh, so her! – no Mom, I did not win either. =)  Just saying. Do not be afraid to regift, just not back to the person who gave it to you; that might be a bit tacky.

Take hope.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

October 19, 2009 - Posted by | Doing not thinking, economy, self sufficiency

4 Comments »

  1. Annette I look at these times kind of like pond scum, lol, you stir it up to bring all the yuck to the top so we can get rid of it.We too have had to cut way back for a few years now. Hang in there girl.Thank you so much for coming by.This was an awesome post!

    Comment by Marie S | October 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I'm a firm believer in re-gifting, and I hope that gifts I've given find good homes – either with the intended recipients, or others to whom they've been passed on to.It's a great practice!

    Comment by Rue | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. I regift and I'm proud of it!Sending some loving vibes your way.

    Comment by Kathie | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Re-gifting is a great way to go. Thinking about this seriously, I not only wouldn't mind but would *prefer* my personal gifts to be previously loved/owned things used in a new, clever way. Or simply passed along to me if the previous owner couldn't use them. It's so conscious, cool and just plain smart.Re: the dark times – have you also noticed it's during these periods we find our best, most creative selves? It's almost as if without challenges we don't develop fully.

    Comment by Lisa | October 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

