Ward House

An Observation

This week I was able to walk home from work 3 different days; of those 3 days, on two, Ronnie picked me up and carried me the rest of the way home.  Yesterday was the first day I was able to walk home, start to finish – what an experience!  Oh, this picture was taken on my walk.  Now for the observations.

  • Not the time to carry a heavy bag home from work.
  • People think you are walking because your car has broken down, not because you want to.
  • I have three friends who will pick me up (not including Ronnie)
  • Crazy people drive down Rte 220 
  • Rte 220 is not designed for foot traffic – it is not even foot traffic friendly.  Where is the shoulder??

I believe the second observation was the most profound to me.  My three now known friends that stopped were shocked that I would walk by choice.  What?  You are suprised that I have even three friends who will give me a ride?  tee hee.  It was a great indian summer afternoon/eve to walk; the smell of the leaves and horses grazing close to the fence, the sound of cattle calling to their babies.

That brings me to another moment of revelation.  I’ve been using a deodorant stone for awhile now and have noticed that on very warm days I can smell myself.  Not in a bad way, I just notice my personal odor.  Does not bother me, however, other people that I work with may feel different.  So last night I mixed a deodorant recipe that Melinda, over at One Green Generation posted.  No odor after yesterdays 2.3 mi walk, up an incline, home. 

Oh, and today I am the guest blogger for the 23rd day of Halloween – come see! 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

October 23, 2009 - Posted by | economy, halloween, self sufficiency

2 Comments »

  1. Hello! I came from Mrs. B.'s blog. Just loved your post there! The cards are really beautiful and the "spells" into them, just sweet.About your post here, I love walking, and living in this mountain city allows me to walk all the time, I don't have a car and seldom take the bus. It's funny because many people do think you want a ride, but I don't! LOLKisses form Nydia,

    Comment by Nydia | October 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. loved your entry and congrats on making the walk by yourself – wish I could do that – just stopping by to say Hi from mrs B's blog – take care

    Comment by ELLIE | October 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

