Ward House

Dig, Set, Kill!

The last few days have been a bit hectic and I am wondering if a list would be helpful.  We had the sports jersey ‘dilema’ the last few days – making sure the jersey lettering was the same size as the rest of the team jerseys and then getting it up to the school in time for K14 to play in last nights semi final district game.  Our girls won in 3 games against Craig County so tonite they will play Parry McClure; an amazing team that took James River (another really good team) into 5 games last night.  A great match to watch.  Anyway we arrived home late last night and I stayed up to wash Jerseys and other sports related clothing items for tonight’s game.

A15 is 5’3″, K14 is now 5’9″ and to see K14 standing next to one of the seniors on court last night brought home just how quickly my two daughters have grown up.  A sad and exciting feeling intertwined.  A15 is the Varsity team’s setter and before last night’s game, she had over 500 assists under her belt (as a sophomore) and K14, whose first time as a Varsity player was last night, had her first kill – from the back row!  Yes, I am a proud momma.  They are already the District Champions so last night and tonite’s game will determine where they ‘seed’ in the Regionals, which we will be hosting next week.  What does ‘seed’ mean?

There has also been some drama at the house related to A18 and her no count, cheated-on-you-with-your-cousin boyfriend.  Oy!  He is soooo no allowed at the house any longer.  The cousin is the daughter of one of my coworkers.  *clears throat* This stress has contributed to my tiredness.

On to more fun, exciting activities.  Even though holiday giving is a sparse thing at the Ward House, what we do give comes with much though, love, and energy.  I love the Hand Made Holiday buttons and such that are available from other’s who are following the same frugal, repurposing, gift giving themes that we do.  Some of the buttons in the side bars include giveaways/project ideas, etc so check them out.  Giveaways are a great way to acquire gifts for others or yourself and advertise a gifted crafter.

Today a blogger introduced me to this pattern for a hat crown; I’ll just make the crown part for my niece and nephew.  Christine, my sister, says they are set and need no gifts; if I can squeeze in the time, I’d like to have a little something for them to open on Christmas morning.  Besides, these two kids are just adorable – Christine, if you think the kids are past this, please let me know.

I leave with you this thought, from Renee over at  Circling My Head:

To live content with small means,
To seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion,
To be worthy, not respectable,
And wealthy, not rich,
To study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly,
To listen to stars and birds, to babes and sages, with open heart,
To bear all cheerfully, do all bravely,
Await occasions, hurry never,
In a word to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious,
Grow up through the common; this is to be my symphony.

~~ by William Henry Channing ~~

November 5, 2009 - Posted by | Crafting, economy, family, self sufficiency

4 Comments »

  1. Hello, Annette!Thank you for following my little blog 🙂 I'm always delighted to meet a fellow blogger.I played volleyball in highschool and this post brought back some happy memories. Mostly memories of how in shape I was "back then"!Happy Thursday!Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thank you Jen. =) I enjoy your blog and decided to stop being a lurker and make it official. =)Happy Thursday to you too!

    Comment by Annette | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Congrats on your girls wins!That crown is divine!

    Comment by Rue | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks Rue – I am excited about both! The games and the crown. =)

    Comment by Annette | November 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

