Ward House

Final mitten stitches

When the total length from cuff to tip is 8″ then begin the tip shaping.  Switching to the size H hook,*sc4, sc2tog* until reach beginning, a row of sc, then 2 sc, sc2tog until finished. Bind off, weave in ends.  Now this is a good match for my hand, which measures 7″ from tip of pointer finger to wrist crease.

Now we are ready for the thumb.  I just slip stitched my yarn to one of the sc and then sc in a circle until the thumb was the right length.  There is no glamorous ending, I just slip stitched across the tip and that was that.  Though the tip would be more square. *shrugs*  I’ve now begun the 2nd mitten, ’cause you know all mittens deserve a match.  =)

I like a longer mitten; makes it easier to ‘tuck’ into my coat and eliminates the cold breeze gap.  I would prefer a closer weave to give more protection when the wind blows – not gonna happen unless I find a better pattern that will allow a smaller hook or knit the pair – would take me FOREVER (not a fast knitter).  Now that the pattern is set, the gift list needs to be firmed up and serious crafting started.  *whew*  I’d post the list here but some of those peeps will see it and, well, where is the surprise? 

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I need to add something to this: when shaping the top, you may need to 2sc sc2tog one row and then sc the next row just so the gaps are not really noticeable.Carry on.

    Comment by Annette | November 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

