Ward House

Where have you been?

I have been here and on the road.  Friday we drove to Richmond to watch my girls and the Charger team play in the high school state, class A, volleyball tournament.  We won Friday and went on to play at 9:30 on Saturday morning.  It was a good show and we made Gate City fight for their championship.  Yes, Gate City won – it took them 5 games to do it.  Talk about an amazing 5 games; I was so nervous that practialy a whole dishcloth was knitted (all except the border)!  Knitting saves my nails and cuticles from a chewing.  =)  On Facebook, I’ve been able to link to several papers, if you want to see more information. 

This dishcloth has renewed my passion for knitting and especially that dang sock.  I think, though, that learning to knit on a circular will be the way to go for the next pair of socks.  This one that I am finishing, is going to be used as a primitive Christmas stocking. 

Christine, over at Treasure Goddess, posted the following in Phelan’s blog about a Depression Christmas – just that title makes me want to create a button to share with everyone.  =)  Thank you for the pattern, Christine.  I cannot wait to make some!  Guess I need to find out what size needles, eh?

I’ve decided it’s the year of the wrist warmers for us. Teacher gifts/family gifts.

CO 40 stitches, join in the round.
k1, p1 rib for 4 rounds
k3, p1 every round for 5-6 inches from start, then go back and forth (no longer in the round, leaving an opening) still in the K3, P1 pattern (when you go back on the wrong side you’re K1, P3 –knit the knits and purl the purls)
knit & purl in pattern back & forth for 12 rows, then go back to knitting the pattern in the round for 6 rows.
K1P1 for 4-6 rows and bind off.

What are you making for gifts?

 Oh, just in – a friend of ours passed away a few months ago.  She had been good health, despite the fight,  and went quickly on September 12, 2009.  I miss you Sally!!  With her passing, Jack has been left alone; Jack is her cat.  He has run away from his new home twice (about 1/2 miles away) and the new homeowners do not want an indoor/outdoor cat.  Mason passed several months ago and even though I love and adore Otis, I miss Mason terribly.  Jack needs a home..  Tonite we are going to see how the two (Jack and Otis) get along.  Jack is an adult cat, neutered, shots, and fully clawed < which is a good thing.  Otis is a Jack Russell and does not realize his own strength.  Cross your fingers. 

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Pets, tutorials, volleyball

6 Comments »

  1. Hope yjr Jack and Otis thing works out. :)Knitting my 800th iteration of a hat for YoungSon. Eventually I'll find on I like and don't mess up.Have a couple of scarves on the needles as well. A chunky one I love and am trying to find something to knit with this great yarn (now discontinued – TWO TWO from Classic Elite). 100% wool, very springy and great to the touch, but everything looks just "wrong". I've tried 3 different scarves and none of them are right.Thinking of you this holiday season.

    Comment by Meadowlark | November 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. I hope things worked out between Jack and Otis.Knitting is something I have wanted to learn to do for quite some time. It's just the time that's the issue. *sigh*I'm thinking about making ornaments for Christmas this year. And maybe some fresh baked bread…chocolate truffles wouldn't be too bad either!Happy Thanksgiving,Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. Glad you posted about the ornaments – that is a great idea!

    Comment by Annette | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. I miss my cat and dog. We got a new dog, but he is definitely the hubby's Border Collie. He knows his master. I said I need a dog that loves me – hubby says double the dog, double the poop…OK, then. And since the little box was my least favorite thing about the cat, too, I'm waiting a little longer. Hope yours works out just fine and they each find a special place in your home…together.

    Comment by Karen Sue | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. Annette-another FLYLADY thing. I did a few of her FLINGS that you weigh stuff as it goes out of your house and then post it on the website. I filled my Suburban once each time I did it with stuff I didn't need anymore and my house isn't empty yet. And I could easily do it again a few times…. I don't know that it will happen before spring, but I could do it and not flinch…it's just finding the time to rip into it. OK, so I'll put that on my goal list for 2010! a good start.

    Comment by Karen Sue | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. I like the Fling. =) Sometimes I'd like to fling a few things. We already have a bag of things to be donated – hope to get those out the door before Thursday!

    Comment by Annette | November 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

