Ward House

Family History and a giveaway (or two)

I’ve cut down on the giveaway blogging just ’cause I’m tired.  =)  This one, though, is just too cute.  Picard Creative is giving away your choice of a Christmas ornament.  This artist is too talented!  Go to Mrs. B’s site to enter.

Another sweet giveaway can be found at a Work in Progress.

My Mom follows the blog via email subscription and she sent me a little insight into how Christmas’s were when she was growing up.  Some quick history – my maternal grandmother was Belgium and Mom, though born in the U.S. was raised over seas only to return when she was 14.

Grandmaman told me that when she was growing up, she got ONE present for Christmas, and she gave ONE to her parents (when she was older).  Her parents gave each other ONE also.  That gift was a symbol of the gift of the Christ child to us.

When I was young, my parents always had me make my gifts.  I remember cross stitching an “S” on handkerchiefs for my father.  I also used to make my own Christmas and birthday cards.  When I was a teenager, I would get TWO gifts only, and they were always clothes.  I will never forget the year I got a reversible, plaid skirt with a sweater to match on Christmas.  All the kids at school had all these matching outfits, and mine had always been neutral colors, so that anything went with everything else.  I had felt so out of place.

I enjoy hearing stories of Christmas’s past, from when my parents and grandparents were growing up. 

December 2, 2009 - Posted by | family

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Annette ~ I love Picard Creative's art too , so I'm heading over to Mrs's B to check out the giveaway.I enjoy the family stories about Christmas also , your post reminds me that I want to write or record some of those memories for my girls and grands. ~ Be Blessed ~

    Comment by JoyceAnn | December 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

