Ward House

Happy Feet (or just foot for now)

Oh happy day!  The sock is finished.  Muhaha.  I was so excited that Ronnie did not have a chance to get out of bed before trying it on.  The cuff goes to mid calf; it was rolled over to make it easier to slip onto his foot.  Both ends must be woven in and voila – He is the man with one sock. Part two is on the needles.  Cannot say that it will be ready for the 25th; won’t be too much longer.

Why was I up so early whilst Ronnie was still sleeping?  I shall explain.  K14 stayed at a friends house last night and since her friend’s mom works at the hospital just up the street, the Mom was going to bring K14 to work with her this morning and I could pick up K14 there (Mom and I are good friends.  We woke to an ice storm.  I got the call at 7:45 to say they had made it safely in and that I come get her anytime.  She was going to sleep in one of the hospital beds til I arrived.  Now, Bath Community Hospital has a total bed count of 10.  It is one floor and the kitchen is located just down the road from our house.
When the call came in we were sleeping so soundly, buried under blankets.  We dressed quickly as K14 was ready to come home.  Although the roads were icy, melting had started.  We snagged her and headed home (8 minutes away).  Upon arriving home, we cooked up some breakfast (including coffee), ate and Ronnie went back to bed.  I had to finish this sock and woke him up to try it on and get a picture.   In a few short hours we will head 1.5 hours south to Roanoke to pick up my other daughter, A15.

It is amazing how much confidence comes from something so small.  Thank you, Meadowlark, for challenging me to knit a sock.  *hugs* I am now off to finish my coffee before it gets cold and finish casting on sock two.

 Stay warm!

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. I'm really excited for you!!! The second challenge will be actually completing the second sock, but I'm sure you will, being flush with accomplishment. :)I actually finished a scarf, a hat and two wristwarmers… they're fairly ugly, due to the yarn choice (it's what BabyGirl wanted tho). You can see it at Ravelry.Happy Holidays my friend!

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. That's great! I knitted a couple pairs of socks a few years ago. They were chunkier than I would have liked (I used worsted weight for one pair and sport weight for the other). I've been wanting to try again with the fine sock yarn, especially the kind with stripes built in. But it's pretty expensive, so I haven't so far.

    Comment by Karla @ Ramblin' Roads | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Karla. This yarn was $5/skein and completed one sock. It is 75% acrylic and 25% wool – Ronnie is allergic to wool; this blend does not make him itch. =) Give it another try. Good luck and keep me posted!

    Comment by Annette | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Meadowlark, you are the mad knitter! I am amazed at how much you get done. Will be out to Ravelry to check it out. =)Happy Holidays to you too! *hugs*

    Comment by Annette | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. I have yet to knit socks or a sweater. The sweater is where I'd like to head first, but I need to get some time, confidence and an idiot-proof pattern. Way to go on the sock.. I did felted slippers and enjoyed doing both pair. I'm a busy, starter/stopper with too many iron in the fire. Waiting for another snowday!!

    Comment by Karen Sue | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Karen, I can relate to the starter/stopper. There are several other projects that could be finished; I am having too much fun with this sock!

    Comment by Annette | December 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

